Tevye’s First Day of Pre-School

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Today was a very big day in our house, as it’s Tevye’s very first day of his Getting Ready for School Program. I’m not sure if that’s the actual name of the program, but that sums up what it is. Since he starts school in the fall, he’s taking part in a program that happens one morning a week in the school library. It helps kids get used to the idea of being at school.

He wasn’t too certain of the idea of being away from us for a whole two hours, and started stalling when it was time to get ready. While he normally gets himself dressed in no more than three minutes, today I checked in on him after ten, and he still wasn’t finished. He also took much longer than normal to eat his breakfast, and getting his jacket and shoes on.

Of course, once we all walked outside, none of us really wanted to go, as it was back to snowing this morning, not heavily, mind you, but it was chilly, and I didn’t think to bring my gloves.

The whole walk to school, he dragged his feet, and didn’t say much of anything. Saarah also walked incredibly slowly, but that’s because she has short legs, and stops to look at everything. Today, she was excited by a pine tree, which she claimed was very pointy, and was trying to tickle her. Immediately after this, she pointed out some sticks, which she said would poke her eyes out.

Once we did arrive at the school, we found the library, which doesn’t look overly like a library, due to a serious lack of books. There are some books, but significantly less than any elementary school I ever went to.

As you can see from the picture, Tevye wasn’t very keen on the idea of being left there, while Saarah and I went home. I suggested that he go and play with some of the toys they had out, which he thought was a good suggestion. He came running back a minute later, still looking horribly forlorn, and told me that he liked the toys that were there. I, once again, suggested that he go and play with them. I also informed him that we would be leaving now, which he didn’t protest(much).

When we came back to pick him up before lunch, he ran over sporting rabbit ears that they had constructed and coloured. Since his name was written across the front, they also functioned as a name tag for the teachers. Pretty smart idea.

When I inquired what else they did, Tevye told me that he didn’t know. What do you mean you don’t know? How do you not know? It was only two hours, and you were there, AND, you never forget anything!

Eventually I learned that he also coloured another picture, and they had talked about the letter “E”. Best of all, though, they had a snack, and Tevye was most excited by the carrots and broccoli. They also had juice and Easter cupcakes, and they had green on top. At one point, I’m told, they sat in a circle and listened to a story about a rocket, which, according to T-Man, went into the ocean.

His teachers were raving about how well he did, which, of course, makes me happy.

He tells me he’s excited to go back next week.

Oh, and as a follow-up to yesterday’s post, Saarah clung to my ankle the entire time Tevye was away, looking completely lost without her big brother.

Comments
11 Responses to “Tevye’s First Day of Pre-School”
  1. sillyliss says:

    Awww! He looks so handsome and grown up!

    How old are kids when they start regular school where you live?

    And is it possible Teyve will meet some kids who will actually be in his school at a later point? That would be really advantageous!

    • As far as I know, all of the kids who are in this program will be starting school with Tevye in the fall.

      Kids start school when they’re four or five(they have to turn five before Dec 31st of the year they start).

      • sillyliss says:

        I wish kids here could start school that young. Emilia will have to turn five before a September deadline that she won’t meet, so she will be about five-and-a-half before she can start kindergarten. She really just wants to ride the yellow schoolbus!

  2. Awww poor Saarah missing her big brother :( Very glad to hear Tevye ended up enjoying himself and he did so well :) such a big step in the ladder of childhood..starting school. How did you fare leaving him and being away from him? (I found it was harder on me then it was on my son when he started school)

  3. stephicakes says:

    Oh, what a cute littlle smartypants!
    My daughter can never tell me what happened at preschool either. And since she’s only 3, the tidbits I DO get are pretty suspect. She used to tell me all about this kid at school, and I later learned there was no one there by that name. Creepy! lol.

    • That is creepy. Either that, or there’s a very deceptive child at your daughter’s school, giving everyone a fake name, probably to cover up the fact that they’re running a drug ring, and using the preschool as a cover. Hmm, very clever child. I’d be keeping my eye on that one.

      • stephicakes says:

        Well, frankly, if they’re running a drug ring, they have NO BUSINESS charging me as much as they do! Although, if anyone else I knew acted the way Lola does most of the time, I would be certain that they were, in fact, on drugs.
        hmmm….

      • While your drug ring/preschool may not need to charge as much as they do, and perhaps they even feel guilty about doing so, if they were to lower their prices to be significantly lower amounts than other daycare providers/preschools, then it would cause people to become even MORE suspicious than you are simply with children running around using aliases.

  4. christine says:

    Oh, sweet boy! Happy day to the family! Also, Tevye’s sweater is a-m-a-z-i-n-g. Nice work. And Saarah will get things figured out. Really.

  5. Pink Ninjabi says:

    I think your kids are the CUTEST! And yes, the blog writing is awesome of course. But like, they are the SO ADORABLE! Okay, me settles down my cheer, and keep encouraging you to write. :D

    Pink.

  6. Reblogged this on starfire8me and commented:
    I LOVE UR PICS, MY 3 BOYS ARE ALL ALMOST GROWN. THEY WILL B IN “JUNE,JULY AND AUGUST….
    20,17 AND 15. THEY GROW UP SO FAST!! TAKE LOTS IF PICS AND DO MEMORABLE THINGS. : )

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,236 other followers

