What I Want To Be When I Grow Up

BS”D

Ask any child what they want to be when they grow up, and you’re likely to be given a different answer each time the question is asked.  Some days Tevey wants to be a farmer, some days a firefighter, some days he wants to play for The Leafs(actually that one is pretty constant), and some days he wants to be a construction worker.  The list could go on and on.  I think back to when I was growing up and I remember all the things I wanted to be; Doctor(and I wanted to work with my mum), astronaut, orthodontist, Olympic swimmer, and on and on the list went.  It’s no secret to anyone that none of those things panned out for me in the end(though I did enter a contest to go to Space, which I didn’t win.  I thought it would be great if I won and I could call in to work that day and say “Sorry, I can’t come to work today due to the fact that I’ll be in Space”).  Although my opinion of career changed on a fairly regular basis, one asparation I had stayed constant.  From an early age I can remember wanting to be a Father.  I thought it would be neat to be able to take care of someone in such a capacity.  I also figured it must be nice to be the boss, and to be the ground-er as opposed to the ground-ee.

I had those same feelings towards being a father up until about a week before Tevye was born.  At this point I was just too darn nervous about the whole concept that I couldn’t get so excited about finally getting to ground someone.

I learned a few things very quickly after my first child was born:

1. Turns out I’m not really the boss – Think about it.  Do you think that Steve Jobs walks around Apple Headquarters and cleans up people’s messes, makes their lunch, and gets them dressed in the morning?  Also, if any adult walked around their workplace screaming, throwing things, jumping on desks, and pooping on the floor, how long do you think they’d last at their job before being fired?  I’m really more like a manager who has to oversee his crazy bosses and make sure they don’t get into any serious trouble.  You have to let the little stuff slide otherwise they yell at you too much.

2. You can’t ground a three day old baby no matter how much they’re screaming

3. Nothing scares you after seeing the contents of your baby’s first diaper(how could such a cute innocent little baby produce such a vile, repugnant, disgusting substance?)

4. When people talk about the increased laundry that comes with a baby, I didn’t realize they meant mine as well

5. Getting ready to go out takes at least an hour so plan ahead

6. There is nothing I would rather do with my life than be a father.

I really do love being a father.  Although it’s difficult at times, and the rest of the time it’s down right insane(I kid, I kid.  Tevye and Saarah are very well behaved children, at least most of the time), there is no more rewarding experience that I’ve ever had.  Watching Tevye and Saarah growing up and develop into the sort of people that they’re becoming is nothing short of awesome.  Because of Nicole and the kids I’ve grown so much as a person.  I believe that being able to stay home with the kids has really intensified this process, and while making me a better Tatte, is also making me a better husband and man at the same time.  If the whole point of life is to improve yourself as a person, then that is exactly what my family is helping me to achieve.  This is why I’m so thankful that Nicole is willing to work, while I stay home with the kids.  I should probably tell her that more often.  Come to think of it, I should probably tell a lot of people a lot of things more often. Right now I think it’s time to tell Tevye and Saarah that it’s nap time.  I doubt very much that this sort of news is going to please them, but it has to be said.

Comments
2 Responses to “What I Want To Be When I Grow Up”
  1. Nicole says:

    Thank you! I appreciate that you are willing to take such good care of the babies so we don’t need to leave them with someone else all day! Also, I would like to point out, if you need a break, they are hiring at my work!

  2. Lee says:

    I am totally enjoying your writing, Moishe. I just love it. I look forward to it every day. Thanks for this amazing way to share your family. Much love to you all. Lee

Leave a Reply

