Happy Mother’s Day

BS”D

Happy Mother’s Day.

When I was very young, my mum stayed home with my brother and I while my father went out to work each morning.  She had the opportunity to stay home with me, and later my brother, until I was four years old.  At this point she went back to school, so we were off to daycare in the mornings.  What I do remember is that it was a wonderful time.  Each morning we would go out for a walk to the corner store, and I would get a lifesaver sucker.  While I don’t know if they’re still made, I do remember that they were delicious.  When we’d get home I believe we had a snack and watched Fred Penner(or “The Man in the Log” as we refered to him), Mr. Dressup, and finally Canadian Sesame Street.  We’d have some lunch and then a nap.  I don’t really recall any of our afternoon routines, except for Fridays when we would drive to Dairy Queen and meet my dad after he finished work.  I don’t remember too much else about that time of my life.  I don’t remember specific conversations that we had, or outings that we may have taken that differed from our routine, or the vast majority of the funny stories that my mum has about that time in my life.

What I do remember is that I was very happy at the time.  I knew for certain that my mother would never allow anything bad to happen.  I knew that if I hurt myself my mum would be right there to make everything better.  I knew that if I needed help my mum would be there in a heartbeat.  I also knew that the most delicious blackberry pie in the entire world was made by my mother(after having sampled many a blackberry pie in my day, I’m still certain that she makes the best in the world).

Since those care-free days of my youth, she has always been there for me.  Whether it was rescuing me from trouble on numerous occasions, or giving advice(whether it was wanted or not, it was always right), or a hug when I needed one, or calling me each and every week at the same time while I spent two years living in Israel.  The effect of those regular phone calls was absolutely huge for me.  I would anxiously wait by the phone each Saturday night until she called.  Even now she will call each week, generally on Monday afternoon, and I’ve come to anticipate it just as much.

She instilled in me a love of cooking, baking, gardening, and all things family, all of which I am incredibly grateful for.  More than anything though, she helped me to become a good person.  She made me realize that no matter how much crap happens in life, you have to be true to yourself.  “At the end of the day” she says “when you put your head down on your pillow, if you’re happy with how you acted, and G-d is happy with how you acted, then that’s all that matters”.  Who cares how everyone around you is acting.  I’ve held on to this advice and while I don’t always manage to live by it 100%, I make every effort to.

Likewise with Nicole, I’ve spent much time admiring how she acts with the children.  She is a fantastic mother who wants nothing more than to make the children happy.  She spends her day working at a job that she doesn’t necessarily enjoy so that her children should have a nice house.  Nicole hates being cold, but we moved from Powell River, BC, where the temperature was always nice, to Nova Scotia so that our children could have a better life.  Her only complaint when her shift time gets changed is when it impacts how much time she gets to spend with her children.  I’ve always been wary of cutting the children’s nails(especially Saarah with her teeny tiny fingers and toes), Nicole will jump right in there and get’er done.  She always lets the kids help her sweep and fold laundry, even though they really only make things much worse.  She shows up with band aids when necessary, and brings treats if she goes out.  She has a never-ending supply of hugs and kisses for the children.  Each day the children start looking out the window for her about an hour before she gets home from work.  By the time she gets home they’re practically bouncing off the ceiling with anticipation and excitement.

She, has always been a fantastic Mama, but as time goes by she just gets better and better.  I love you Nicole, and I love you Mum.  Happy Mother’s Day

Comments
3 Responses to “Happy Mother’s Day”
  1. mom says:

    What a wonderful Mother’s Day letter, thank you,
    I will make you a blackberry pie anytime. Have a great day Nicole, I agree totally with Andrew, you are an awesome Mom. I miss all of you very much.
    Love always, Mom

    • BS”D

      Anytime, eh? How about tomorrow? You have Mondays off anyways, so you could catch a late flight tonight, make a pie, help us eat it, and be back in time for work!

  2. Nicole says:

    Thank you. I try my best, and it is certainly not always easy. But seeing how the children are growing into such nice and pleasant little people, it’s worth staying at this job to ensure that you can continue to stay home with them and instill all the values and traditions that are important to us.

Leave a Reply

