Where Did He Pick THAT Up? – Part 2

BS”D

The continuing saga of “Where did he pick THAT up?” I’m going to let you in on what random things Tevye has been saying lately.  Just like the first post on this subject, some of the things I know where they came from, and others I have absolutely no idea.

A couple of weeks ago I was in the kitchen, preparing supper for all of us, when in waltzes Tevye.  I don’t really recall what I was making, though one of the ingredients was Matzo Meal.  I think I must’ve been making potato kugel. Yeah, kugel.  Let’s go with that. Anyways, Tevye walked up to the counter to see what I was up to.  I explained that I was making supper, and I asked if he’d like to stay and watch.  He told me that he would, and he’d like to get a chair.  So Tevye went and fetched a chair and dragged it over to where I was standing.  I hate it when they schlep chairs around.  The noise that our chairs make on this floor is really awful. It’s not as bad as, say, nails on a chalkboard, but it’s pretty bad(do people still use chalkboards anymore, or have they all switched to whiteboards now?  I’m sure that my children will never have exposure to that most dreaded of noises.  Perhaps I should go and buy one, just so that they’re not missing out. On second thought, perhaps not).  Once Tevye got himself up on his chair and was watching me grate potatoes, he was asking all sorts of questions.  At one point he pointed at the matzo meal and asked “Tatte, what is this?”  I informed my quizzical son that this was mazto meal. I don’t think I’ll ever forget what he said next. “Oh, matzo meal.  Tatte, what is it used for?”  Now, the question may not seem like much to an adult, but this question struck me as a highly intelligent question for my two-year old son to ask me.  Never before had he asked what something was used for.  It has always been enough to know what something is.  He hasn’t asked such a question since that time, and I don’t honestly recall what my answer was, but the very fact that he asked it in the first place was quite something.  It was about on par with discovering someone you know speaks some obscure language.

I had a birthday recently and I made myself a cake.  I had taken the cake out of the oven and had set it on some cooling racks so that it could, gasp, cool. An unorthodox approach perhaps, but I’ve heard some people say that it works. Within 30 seconds of the timer going off Tevye had rushed to the kitchen.  As far as he’s concerned, when the oven timer goes off, it means that Tatte has obviously made some sort of treats for the children.  What other reason is there for oven timers, if not to alert small children as to the completion of treats? When “Food Inspector Tevye” had arrived on the scene, he noticed the cake sitting on the counter.  He walked right up, examined it and inquired “It’s hot?  It’s cooked?”  Between the two questions, there was no pause for an answer.  It was all said as one curious statement.  These particular questions, asked in the manner that Tevye posed them, are from an episode of “Curious George”. While his questions were valid, it was pretty funny that he was quoting his favourite show in a real life situation.  The way he said it was so genuine as well, I couldn’t help but chuckle to myself.

Tevye has a tendency to eat his supper obnoxiously slowly.  It drives me nuts, but it is what it is.  If I should ask him to “eat faster” he will reject this suggestion outright, and instead say that he wants to eat his supper either “Rocket ship Fast” or “Airplane Fast”.  Sometimes, when clarifying with Tevye what sort of fast he is willing to eat his supper, he will automatically reject whichever method I’ve suggested.  “No Tatte, not airplane fast.  ROCKET SHIP FAST!”  “Oh, okay Tevye, you eat it rocketship fast then.” I don’t really care what method of transportation he chooses to imitate when consuming his supper, so long as he eventually eats it.

A few months back Tevye started saying something that was so incredible, so wonderful, that I just had to put it in.  On occasion Tevye will walk up to me, give me a big hug, and say “I love you Tatte”.  Each time he says it, it’s just as exciting as the very first time he said it.  Nothing beats the feeling I get when this happens.  It’s not like he’s saying it just because it’s another phrase that he’s memorized and is trying out.  The way he says it, combined with the hug I get, just comes across as so very genuine and sincere.  Even just writing this down is eliciting wonderful feelings. I love you too Tevye.

Leave a Reply

