01.05.2012 “Plato’s Republic Stands No Chance Against Me”

In the weeks leading up to Chanukah, I was trying to get the kids excited for the holiday, but it can be tricky when the majority of the media they’re exposed to focus primarily on Christmas. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that there’s anything wrong with it. After all, the people behind children’s shows are obviously going to be making content that speaks to the majority of their audience, but it can make things more difficult for the average Jewish tatte, trying to get his two preschoolers on board with the idea that holidays/celebrations, aside from Christian ones, are exciting.

Well I wasn’t making much headway until the morning before the first night when, after Sesame Street was finished, and I was about to turn off the television, I noticed Grover was teaching kids hebrew letters. Turns out there’s another series entitled “Shalom Sesame”. I had heard of this before, but I didn’t think that it would be shown on PBS. Anyways, the kids watched it and got right into what they were teaching about Chanukah. Meanwhile, I’m thinking to myself that I’ve told you kids these same things a thousand times now and you don’t care, but a man with his hand up Grover’s bum tells you and it’s the most amazing thing you’ve ever heard. Go figure, eh?

Well after that, there was no stopping them. Tevye, especially. He was so eager to help me light candles each night, and obviously he was on board with eating latkes and, as the picture attests to, doughnuts. I told him on the first night that if he wanted to help light candles then he needed to wear a kippah. He insisted on wearing it all day, every day for the remainder of Chanukah. As a matter of fact, he insisted that I wear one all day, every day from then on. Who knew that my four year old would be insisting that I be more religious?

Leave a Reply

