01.11.2012 Final Score: 156 to 2

I like to believe that I’m generally able to acquire pretty good presents for Nicole, but when her birthday was rapidly approaching last year, and I hadn’t managed to come up with a darn thing I started to panic. I spent copious amounts of time searching the internet and scratching my head, trying to come up with something that was just right. The more time I put into the search, the less attractive all of my options became. After all, if I’d spent this much time looking, I wanted all of my efforts to be worth it.

One morning, about a week before her birthday, I opened up Facebook and there, right near the top of the page, was the answer to my conundrum. A friend of ours had posted a link to a Halifax Chronical-Herald article talking about how there was going to be a Montreal Canadiens vs Boston Bruins preseason game in Halifax this year! Well, if you should ever ask Nicole what she wants for a birthday present, the answer is always “Habs tickets”.

Nicole had asked if I would be wearing a Habs sweater to the game, to which I replied “I can’t wear that!”

“Why not? This sweater is a perfect fit.”

“Dion Phaneuf would never wear it.”

“You’re not Dion Phaneuf! Besides, it’s not what you put on your back that matters, it’s what you put inside your head.”

“You’ll never make me put it in my head to wear a Montreal Canadiens sweater.”

A few months later we all piled in the car and trundled off to Halifax. Tevye was insistent that he wear his Leafs sweater, while I worried for his safety(The whole time I couldn’t help feeling that we had walked into the den of the enemy). When we went to the mall earlier in the day, a man came up to us and said that he was the best dressed guy in the whole city today, what with all of these Habs sweaters walking around. I thanked him profusely.

Tevye figured that since he was going to a Habs game, and would be cheering for the habs, he should make his intentions known by putting on Habs temporary tattoos. If anyone asked, I just said that he was bi-curious.

It was certainly an entertaining way to spend an evening, especially since I had never been to an NHL game and while the Habs not only lost – they were slaughtered(I believe the final score was 156 to 2, in favour of Boston), we all had a lot of fun. I mean, just the chance to “boo” Chara every time he touched the puck, and knowing that there was a chance, however slight, that he might have heard MY boo made the whole experience a hoot and a half.

All in all, we had a great time, and would do it again in a heartbeat.

Leave a Reply

