Mark This Date on Your Calendar

As I type this, I’m listening to classical music on CBC. Very fittingly, “Fanfare for the Common Man” has just come on. Actually, it’s a kind of creeping me out, just how well it works with the theme that I’m going for. As a matter of fact, click here for the music. Put it on while you read the rest of this post. Is it playing now? Okay, perfect.

Yesterday afternoon we had an event occur that was so rare, so unbelievable, so utterly remarkable, that not only did I feel the need to tell you fine people about it, but I literally marked the date on the calendar.

There have been but a few times in my life that have been more momentous.

So wonderful was this discovery, that I could only stand back, completely silent, admiring the beauty of what lay before me. I was so shocked that I stumbled backwards, though thankfully, I was able to catch myself before I landed on the floor.

Without further ado, I present the Great Discovery

You see, in order to have Saarah’s room cleaned up in time for supper, it means that we start the process each day around 2pm. Now, I know you think I’m exaggerating, but I am not. It is always a source of such great frustration that I dread even asking the two of them to do it. I will have to ask them every three minutes to please continue cleaning, as they get sidetracked very easily, and instead of cleaning, continue taking books/toys out and playing.

So yesterday, mid afternoon, I opened the door fully expecting the “Tornadoes of Destruction” to have wreaked havoc on the room, only to discover that everything was put away and the room was spotless. I couldn’t have produced a cleaner room if I had done it myself.

It was wonderful. It was magical. It was…short lived.

Alas, 20 minutes later everything had been taken out and the room was it’s usual disaster-like state.

It was nice while it lasted.

 

Comments
13 Responses to “Mark This Date on Your Calendar”
  1. betsyk1 says:

    TOTALLY know the feeling. And I completely believe you about having to start at 2p.m.!

    • It’s rather obnoxious. You’d think that they would figure out that I’ll get off their case if they just spent the 10 minutes and actually cleaned up their toys. Oy vey, what a hassle.

      • betsyk1 says:

        The last two nights I have set a timer. It has worked wonders! But I just wonder how long it will be before the novelty of it wears off. Besides, the point is, you should clean up quickly because I told you to! But I guess that logic is lost on them.

  2. ROFLOL LOVE IT!!! First I love that the kids shocked you to your core and secondly that they then did something so expected and so thoroughly kiddish as to mess the room right back up!!

  3. sillyliss says:

    I can really relate to this post. Definitely a red-letter day for you! Wooooo!

  4. Lynne Ayers says:

    O h we have all been there but you have such a delightful way of sharing it.

  5. I have to say even I as a teenager have had momments were my mom is proud of the fact I have cleaned up my room without it looking like a disaster lol 😀

Leave a Reply

