My Girly Daughter

To say that Saarah is “girly” is like describing a hurricane as “a gentle spring zephyr”. She is absolutely obsessed with pink and frilly things, pretty dresses, and of course all things pertaining to faeries and princesses. She is all too keen to pretend to do her make up with Mama(call me crazy, but I don’t think it’s appropriate for a three year old girl to be putting on make up. I REALLY don’t think it’s appropriate for a three year old boy to be putting on make up). She has her girly body wash and bath beads, both of which have pictures of faeries on the bottle. Of course, she also has a wide assortment of babies, all of whom are named “Baby”. She even has a container of hair clips, hair elastics, ribbons, and other such things, which she calls her “Pretty Things”. She must take this out and look at the contents each day, getting mad if I should deny her this G-d given right, yelling “I NEED to look at my Pretty Things!”.

In the mornings, when Mama goes in the bathroom to do her make up, Saarah MUST be allowed to follow her in. The two of them will then spend an inordinate amount of time in the bathroom, and to be honest, I’m not entirely certain as to the events that transpire during this time. You might think that I could just go in and find out for myself. This is not an option. Aside from the fact that we have the world’s smallest bathroom(seriously, Google it. Our house owns the record for smallest bathroom on the planet. Alright, perhaps not, but it’s tiny.), Saarah explicitly states that boys aren’t allowed in while make up is being applied.

The whole process can take anywhere between three and five hours each morning, and while I can’t confirm it, I’m quite certain that I’ve heard the sounds of heavy machinery being used in there. Of course, being the inquisitive soul that I am, I’ve tried numerous times to peek my nose in. This is usually met by Saarah yelling at me to get out, and somehow managing to out-muscle me and keep the door closed.

There has been a couple of times that I’ve been able to take a quick peek at the mysteries that lay behind the door. On one occasion, I saw the two of them utilizing some sort of horrible torture device. The Spanish Inquisition was less horrifying than what I saw happening in there. I was told that these apparatuses were known as “eye lash curlers”.

Now, you might think that a girl who was so utterly girly would adore getting her hair done. After all, there are few things more girly in this world than making your hair pretty. For some inexplicable reason, Saarah absolutely loathes having her hair touched. If we can so much as brush it when she gets out of the bath, it’s a good day.

Today Mama managed to convince Saarah to let her do something with that teeny tiny head of hair. Saarah was adamant that today she would have a sideways ponytail. For some reason, she decided to look rather ’80s today.

I tried to explain that there were numerous more attractive options, but she wasn’t going to have anything to do with it.

Oh well, I suppose that if the worst thing that happens today is that Saarah looks as though she should be playing a power ballad on one of those guitars with two necks, then I suppose I’m doing alright.

Comments
21 Responses to “My Girly Daughter”
  1. Donna says:

    You need to read her Robert Munsch’s “Stephanie’s Ponytail”!!

  2. sillyliss says:

    I adore the side ponytail. My daughter Emilia (similar age) almost never will let me put her hair up.

    So far, neither of my girls are showing the girly girl tendencies. Emilia likes wearing tutus on occasion, as long as they are over pants, but she also likes wearing boy-clothes. It makes me wonder if Emilia had a girly-girl mother, would she be more into princesses and faeries instead of cars and Scooby Doo?

    Your gentle spring zephyr hurricane is absolutely adorable.

    • Thank you.

      Perhaps she might’ve ended up more girly, but you never know. There was a study done where children were raised with only gender-neutral toys and colours, never being exposed to the pink is for girls and blue is for boys mentality. The end result was that the children still ended up gravitating towards, though not limiting themselves to, the traditional ideas of what boys and girls should enjoy playing with.

      Tevye has no issue playing with Saarah’s doll house, and Saarah thoroughly enjoys trains and cars. Actually, for a while she enjoyed Spiderman more than Tevye did.

  3. As a girly jewish mother with two boys…I am very jealous!

  4. I only have a son and some days I really long to have a tea party, dress up all fancy and put pretty things in my hair with a little princess…I am not very girly myself, but sometimes life should be filled with butterflies, pink unicorns and faeries!
    Saarah really sounds like a character hehehehe
    When my sister and I were little we didn’t like our hair brushed or touched, so my parents would get our hair cut into what they called a pixie cut..basically we were bald with a thin layer of hair to cover our shiny scalps hehehe (it was actually kinda cute and easy to manage hehe)

    With my son I allowed him to choose whatever toys he wanted whether cars or dolls, and for the most part he gravitated toward cars and dinosaurs, but he did have a cabbage patch doll and some littlest pet shop toys. Once he went to school though that was definitely the end of him playing with anything remotely “girly”. The kids at school “taught” him what was what and we have since gotten a few lectures on what is appropriate for him a BOY to have and play with as opposed to a GIRL which he is NOT….gotta love school.

    • Yeah, Tevye starts school next year, and I really have mixed feelings about it. On the one hand he’s very excited, and he’s a smarty-pants, so I know that he’ll excel at all of the academic aspects of being in school. On the other hand, there’s all of the social aspects of the school yard, and I’m not entirely certain how Tevye’s going to deal with it. I’m sure he’ll be fine, but kids can be nitwits.

      I’m glad to know that there are other girls who don’t enjoy having their hair done.

      • yes school yard antics can be something else! we really struggled with sending our son but he really did need the social interaction since he had always been around us and not too many other kids. He has picked up a few unsavory things but all in all he is doing SPLENDID!!
        He is in grade 2 now and has been blessed with awesome teachers who can not seem to be able to find enough nice things to say about our boy..which makes us super proud of course.
        He excels academically but he is also really considerate, polite, helpful and so on…at school 🙂 hehehe
        Opps there I go bragging about my son..it’s a habit 🙂

      • Well that’s great to hear!

        There’s nothing wrong with bragging about your kids.

  5. Betsy says:

    Your last paragraph is priceless.

  6. christine says:

    Oh, Robert Munsch! I just spotted the first comment. While the ponytail story is truly great (it is about individuality), The Paperbag Princess is the best. book. ever. for empowering a young princess. It is my favorite Alice book. Not, mind you, that Alice is a princess. She has upwards of five tutus, but all she ever dresses up in are her dragon, pirate, and bumble bee costumes. That’s my girl…

    Cheers!

    • She’s hilarious. I was reading your post about her birthday cake ideas the other day, and it made me laugh.

      Paper Bag Princess is a terrific book.

      • christine says:

        Oh, and get this. I told a girlfriend’s mother about the castle/dino/dragon/princess idea and she made a hilarious apron for Alice that deconstructed and reconstructed a fabric she had found with a stereotypical “prince saves princess from dragon” storyline to make it EXACTLY what Alice suggested. Graphic, yes, but the funniest darn thing I’ve seen.

      • That’s priceless!

Leave a Reply

