It’s Purim, Baby!

My children wearing costumes and the fact that I’m feeling slightly hungover this morning would lead me to believe that it is Purim today. For those of you unfamiliar with this peculiar celebration on the Jewish calendar, click here for a quick synopsis of the holiday.

The kids were, as usual, all too keen to get the opportunity to wear costumes all day long. Tevye has decided to go with his train conductor number, and Miss Saarah has decided on being a faerie. I inquired if she was Tinkerbell(it is a Tinkerbell costume, after all), but she was vehemently opposed to the whole idea.

“No, Tatte, I’m just a faerie!”

“Alright, dear.”

She was also refusing to look at the camera and smile, while I was desperately trying to take their picture. When I asked, she frowned, and told me to take a picture of her wings. Perhaps that’s how faeries say “talk to the hand”. Do people still say that? I don’t believe so, though I could be wrong. It may be a rarity, though it has been known to happen.

I chased Saarah around the house for five minutes, but do you think I could get her to co-operate at all? Obviously not.

Perhaps she’d lighten up if she had a drink. It is Purim, after all.

I thought that it could be fun for Tevye to wear his pirate costume, and then he could tell people that he was dressed up as Justin Trudeau(A Canadian politician, and son of former Prime Minister Pierre Trudeau, who looked an awful lot like Willy Wonka, and no one ever saw them in the same place, so chew on that. Justin recently started growing a terrible goatee, which makes him look like a pirate. Sadly, this growth was serious, and not in preparation for Purim.)

Justin Trudeau, ready to commandeer your tall ship

"What is the nature of your thoughts, gentlemen, when you say "fuddle duddle", or something like that?"

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When Saarah had finished running away from me, she finally let me take her picture. She was pretending to be me, while I’m writing my blog.

For my Jewish readers, may you have a festive and joyous Purim. For those of you who aren’t Jewish, have a splendid day.

Comments
5 Responses to “It’s Purim, Baby!”
  1. transplantednorth says:

    have fun with them, they won’t be that little for very long, speakiing from a house with two teens, one teen and a dining room full of mishloach manot that I am assembling all by myself. Chag Sameah!

  2. Pink Ninjabi says:

    Happy Purim Day! I think that’s what I say. Saarah looks absolutely adorable. And I’m slightly envious, masha’Allah, that they don’t make adult size fairy costumes that are as adorable!

    Pink

  3. Melissa says:

    Oh, I do love their costumes very, very much! So wonderful! Happy Purim!

Leave a Reply

