The Angry Yellow Moustache

Perhaps when you read the title you thought it was a reference to Lanny MacDonald, and you got really excited, thinking that this post would be about hockey. If that’s the case, then I’m sorry to disappoint you, but it’s not.

Mama was insistent that we all go and see “The Lorax” this weekend, so that’s exactly what we did. We very rarely go and see movies in the theatre, which is predominantly due to the sheer cost of such an outing these days. Why, back in my day, you could go see a movie, buy popcorn and a drink, and get a haircut, all for a nickle! Using his powers of loud throat-clearing, and ridiculous reminiscing, Old Man Callow strikes again! What was I talking about? Where am I?

Meanwhile, back in reality, we took the kids to see The Lorax. This was actually the very first time that either of them had gone to see a movie in the theatre, so it was quite a monumental event. The wouldn’t shut up about it for the days and hours leading up to the very moment when the movie started. When they get excited about something they’ve never done before, they like to tell me over and over that they’ve never done this before. They also get far too specific about the activity that they’ve never done before.

“Tatte, I’ve never gone to a movie theatre to see The Lorax before!”

“Well obviously you haven’t. To start with, it’s only been out for a little over a week now, and I’ll be darned if I’m going to pay for you to see it twice in the theatre.” is what I might like to say. Instead it comes out more along the lines of “I know. Are you excited?” to which they eagerly agree. They then proceed to remind me that there’s going to be popcorn, and start vibrating with excitement. I found it very difficult to play Jenga when they started talking about going to see the movie.

Since it was so new, we had the honour and privilege of sitting in the very front row, as these were the only seats available upon our arrival. Yes folks, we could actually see up the lorax’s nose, and let me tell you, it’s not a pretty sight.

Since this blog is about being a parent, and not a movie critic, I’m not going to put in my two cents about the movie. Aside from my sore neck by the end of the movie, which was hardly the fault of the good folks who produced it, we all had a most enjoyable time, and thought the movie was delightful.

Comments
15 Responses to “The Angry Yellow Moustache”
  1. I have forever loved that book! I was wanting to take the kids to see it, but I rarely venture into the theater… we have 7 kids, so one trip to the movies almost equals one mortgage payment. (And I’m not exaggerating!)

  2. sillyliss says:

    I have heard mixed reviews of the movie. Maybe someday it will be out on video and I’ll have a chance to see it. 🙂

  3. I took my girls to The Lorax on Purim — half-day at school, so that afternoon was WIDE OPEN for a movie! Everyone else in the theater (all 8 of them — it was a Thursday afternoon, after all) was from school, too. I kind of like it … in fact, have been weirdly humming from it all weekend — and it was vaguely Purim-themed, too, I felt, what with the whole Little Folks speaking up the Big Bad Man in Charge thing. So that made me feel SLIGHTLY better about how little I had done for the holiday (besides cobble together three different sets of costumes for each kid for the three different Purim events they attended over the week).

    • My goodness, three costumes?! Better you than me. I hadn’t thought of it as Purim-themed, but I can see your point. I wish that the theatre we went to was quite so empty.

  4. EduDad says:

    Sounds like the excitement surrounding going to a movie was almost as fun as going to the movie. Same with my daughter. My son is still too young to understand.

  5. Pink Ninjabi says:

    Hilarious and entertaining as always, thanks for sharing!

  6. It is so nice to see another voice added to the high ticket price argument. We seldom go out much less to a movie. Our children are considered adults so we pay thru the “Lorax’s” nose. There are 4-5 of us depending on work schedules. The good news is the fact that with those working schedules we can’t find time to go.

    Thank you for letting me know your opinion of the movie. Sorry for the seating arrangements.
    Peach State

Leave a Reply

