Stinky Cheese Toes

These may appear to be ordinary toes, five on each foot(I made sure to count), with no remarkable features. They may look as though they have a rather unassuming existence, providing the level of service expected of any set of toes. Their presence at the end of my daughter’s tiny feet may seem as though they only serve to provide balance(while a noble feat, their role goes completely unnoticed most of the time), as well as act the part of “piggies”, illustrating the differences in the “haves” and have-nots” of our world, when called upon.

While these statements would all be true on any given foot, as they are on these two, these particular toes are not limited to role of Tickle Targets. These toes, belonging to the lovely Miss Saarah Chayah(recently crowned Miss Grump 2012) are collectively known as “Stinky Cheese Toes”.

I don’t recall what originally prompted her to start calling them her stinky cheese toes, but it has stuck ever since. It could be, in part, due to a line in Dr. Seuss’ “Would You Rather Be a Bullfrog?”, which queries if the reader might enjoy being a “piece of smelly cheese”. I, personally, would welcome the chance to be a piece of smelly cheese. As all adult males who share my last name, I’m an avid fan of stinky cheese, holding a particular fondness for blue cheese. If I somehow ended up turning into cheese, I worry that I’d pick pieces of myself off and eat it. A disturbing image? Perhaps. A delicious image? Definitely! Man, now I want some blue cheese. Does anyone else out there get insane blue cheese cravings? It happens to me on a near weekly basis. Ugh, it’s all I can think about now. If someone can please show me how eating vast quantities of blue cheese will make me a better cyclist, I would be eternally grateful. Oh, and smoked meat.

Saarah enjoys sitting on the side of the sink, and pretending to wash her stinky cheese toes. Sometimes the water will be turned on, while other times she’s quite content to leave it off.

I sometimes joke, when Saarah’s asking for cheese and crackers(what’s the point?!), that we should just get her some crackers and she could spread her toes on top. She has yet to think that this is a decent idea. Just think of the money we’d save, Saarah.

Man, I’m still stuck on that blue cheese craving. I’m telling you, I could eat that stuff by the pound. Well, perhaps not, but I enjoy it an awful lot.

There was a restaurant in Rehovot, Israel, when I lived there called “Tasty Toast”. I have no idea if it’s still there, and I still hold that it had a ridiculous name. Saarah could open a shop when she’s older called “Tasty Toes”, selling predominantly cheese-based products.

It’s worth a shot.

Comments
13 Responses to “Stinky Cheese Toes”
  1. sillyliss says:

    The smile I needed this morning. Thank you.

  2. Heheh! As usual, your delightful daughter has brought a smile to my face. Thank you! šŸ™‚

  3. meizac says:

    I thought this post was going somewhere entirely different, and that my daughter may have a challenger for “Queen of the Stinky Feet.” It appears not though. And, while vegan myself, I can’t help but hope you are able to satisfy that blue cheese craving soon.

  4. christine says:

    Ummm, cheese. I generally prefer the non-stinky cheeses, but I really love most of them. I also happen to have hunks of my two favorites in the refrigerator right now. If I crack into them before 10 am, I am blaming you.

    Fun post, as always. Thanks for sharing Saarah!

    • I have yet to discover a cheese that I don’t immensely enjoy, stinky or otherwise. Now I may have to eat some. If it’s any consolation, it’s already 11:25 here, so it’s not such a bad thing if you eat cheese this early.

      Shh, I won’t tell anyone. It will be a secret.

  5. Pink Ninjabi says:

    Love the FEET! Oh man, I have this ultimate craving for CUTE FEET! Ahh.. sooo cute! Sooo cute!!!

  6. Hi! I’ve been reading your blog for some time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Austin Texas! Just wanted to say keep up the fantastic work!

Leave a Reply

