Warm Enough for Balls

Given that it’s a B-E-A-uitiful day, we all thought that some outdoor play time was in order. While it’s still a little too brisk for me to be running around in my bikini(I hope you weren’t about to eat supper when THAT image was implanted in your brain, forever ruining the very concept of the bikini, as well as your appetite. How nice am I, eh? You come here, day after day to read my blog, and how do I say thank you? I give you an image of me in a bikini.), but it was sunny, and I could see the ground instead of snow.

Since it above the freezing mark, I went into the shed, and instead of bringing out sleds and shovels, I whipped out my balls(man, if you still had any appetite after my bikini remark, it is surely gone now). Of course, I mean the soccer ball, football, and Saarah’s big pink rubber ball.

We hadn’t been outside more than three minutes when Tevye starts running around with a giant stick, making me fret and worry that somebody’s eyes were about to get poked out. Upon asking him to put the stick down, he decided to become, not only a grump pirate, but Captain Grumpy, aboard the good ship “The Miserable Roger”.

While he was told to take his attitude elsewhere, he was also told that he could come back after a few minutes. He said that he wasn’t done being grumpy, and ended up staying on that spot for the remainder of the time that we were outside.

Saarah and I spent the next twenty minutes kicking her giant pink monstrosity back and forth, only to have every little breeze obnoxiously blow it off track. Of course, Saarah though this was all sorts of fun, and would laugh hysterically each and every time the ball went somewhere other than near me.

Eventually, she got bored of kicking the ball, and turned her efforts to somersaults down the hill, instead.

Saarah’s somersault technique, while always effective, has sometimes left something to be desired. She used to fold herself in half, and then fall forward. She would always, as you might imagine, land with an awkward bump, though never as bad as you thought it turn out to be. I always thought that it looked as though it would hurt to do somersaults that way, but then again, I’m not a 2 or 3 year old girl.

I’m happy to report that Saarah’s somersault technique is much improved over last year, and she doesn’t make me cringe in terror and fear quite as often. She still ends up going sideways sometimes, though.

We tried playing soccer in the snow, which was always lots of fun, but the ball was perpetually frozen, which made it similar to kicking a large rock, instead of an inflated ball. Since it’s no longer below the freezing mark, the soccer ball and football don’t hurt our feet any longer. This is where the title for this post came from. That, and I really wanted to see how many times I could say the world “balls”, without actually being rude.

Comments
16 Responses to “Warm Enough for Balls”
  1. sillyliss says:

    Awww, Teyve looks So Sad. Daaaaad! : )

    I always enjoy a good Bruce Almighty nod.

  2. I love the picture of Saarah about to kick that huge pink ball!! The look on her face is priceless!
    Although I am not a fan of winter I have decided that I am glad we have it, because without winter the coming of Spring and the warmer weather would not be exciting and full of joy like it is now πŸ™‚

  3. christine says:

    Ah, somersaults. A favorite of The Kidling’s. Also, of course, log rolls. I am terrified of the day they start doing cartwheels. That’s when the real injuries start…

    • Saarah’s always been a bit of a daredevil, so I’m avoiding teaching them such things. Tevye probably wouldn’t get on board with the idea, but Saarah would be on that like poop on floors(perhaps that’s just our house, and thankfully not very often any more)

  4. Pink Ninjabi says:

    Hilarious!!!! Giggling in my office at the humor! Love her somersaults! Soooo Cute!

  5. BLC says:

    lovely photos, but hoping a bikini over there is different from what it is over here – a two piece?
    πŸ™‚ Either way, at least its Spring!!

    • No, it’s the same thing, that’s why it’s such a disturbing, appetite-destroying image.

      • BLC says:

        ahhhh. Well, I guess it shows a certain common sense to cover up even the smallest bit extra up top! Alas it would take more than that to destroy my appetite…

  6. stephicakes says:

    I LOVE that sommersault pic. My Bean can’t do them and I keep wondering what the heck is wrong with her! lol.

    • All in good time. Try it on a slight hill, that’s how Tevye and Saarah learned. It helps get them going in the right direction. Not too big a hill, mind you, otherwise the results will be hilarious

  7. stephicakes says:

    can I also say that little girls in rubber rainboots are basically the best thing that man and God ever got together to invent?

Leave a Reply

