Ministry of Silly Walks or My Daughter, the Jedi

Yesterday was an extraordinarily warm day. While the picture may lead you to believe it was a little chilly outside, what with my children being in bulky sweaters, and all, it was actually 16C. I was down to a t-shirt, and not the slightest bit cold. The kids just refused to take their sweaters off. Today is supposed to be even warmer, so we’re going to take a walk later down by the harbour, soaking in the warm sunshine.

Of course, as I’m saying all this, I’m fully aware that the west coast of Canada, where all our family is from, is currently covered in snow. That must suck, eh Vancouver/Victoria? People like me going on about how warm it is here while you’re having to put up with upwards of two cm of snow?! How do you cope? Perhaps you’d rather I rant about how this weather is horribly unusual, and we’re just not prepared for it. I mean, I don’t even have the beach toys out yet!

So yeah, we were out enjoying the sun all afternoon yesterday. While Tevye did completely grump-out again, it was short-lived(thankfully), and we all had a great time.

We were playing Piggie in the Middle, which was a huge hit. Actually, the game turned into Saarah running after the ball, oinking like crazy. We chased each other all over the yard, making farmyard animal noises the whole time.

Eventually they decided that they were tired of Piggie in the Middle, and it should now be called Cow in the Middle, which meant that the oinks changed to Moos, the likes of which could be heard all over the neighbourhood, I’m sure.

I was pretty happy with the pictures from yesterday, with the first one making it look as though Tevye is doing his very best John Cleese impression.

I thought the second one looks as though Saarah is using The Force to make the ball levitate towards her.

This final one, while it may look as though Tevye’s engaging in some classic ’80s aerobics leg lifts, he had actually just kicked the ball awkwardly and then fallen down as I took the picture.

Comments
9 Responses to “Ministry of Silly Walks or My Daughter, the Jedi”
  1. sillyliss says:

    Oh, yes, the pictures are wonderful!

  2. Yes, they are wonderful pictures and once I read it I agree that Saarah does seem to be manipulating the force to move the giant pink beach ball. Here in Saskatchewan we are enjoying some nice weather as well, it’s nice to be outside and not freezing and also no bugs!! big bonus.

    • Yeah, it’s terrific. The weather is great again today, and tomorrow is supposed to be nice, as well. After that, though, apparently it will go back to regular March awfulness. We shall enjoy it while it lasts.

  3. Now I need to go watch the Ministry of Silly Walks thing on YouTube again. My 5-year-old will love it.

    I’m going to have to try Piggie in the Middle – sounds fun 🙂

  4. Donna says:

    We do the “ministry of silly walks” as an aquafitness exercise across the pool, at least that’s what I call it…..great pics, and even greater weather!

  5. stephicakes says:

    Love the title! We’ve been in the 80s in WI, which is setting all kinds of records, and I too am unprepared. I had to borrow a sunhat from my sister cause I hadn’t though to buy one yet, and scrounge up some sunscreen. Its been that nice out.
    Hooray for global warming!
    People, I am JUST KIDDING when I say that!

    • Have you watched “Monsters Vs. Aliens”? There’s a scene when they all come outside for the first time in years, and one of the characters says “It feels hotter than I remember. Has the Earth slowly been getting warmer? It would be great to know that, a very convenient truth.”
      It cracks me up every time I see it.

Leave a Reply

