Beach Oddities

I’ve been so good about remembering to bring the camera with me whenever we go out. Whether we’re playing in the back yard, or going for a walk, it’s perpetually on my list of things to bring along:

Wallet √

Keys √

Both children √

Bazooka(I find that it helps with unwanted of awkward conversations) √

Camera √

Of course yesterday we went for a walk, enjoying the delightfully warm weather, and once we got to the beach I realized that we had forgot the camera. Yeah, when I remember something then it’s all me. When I forget, it’s OUR fault. The kids didn’t remind me.

The worst part? There was a veritable boatload of strange and unusual things to photograph:

1. I had yet another winning cup at Tim Horton’s. For those of you  playing along at home, that’s two times this year!

2. There was a dead seal washed-up on shore. While I wouldn’t have taken a picture, nor do I find joy in the rotting carcass of an ex-seal, it was a very strange sight. I couldn’t help but think of a scene in Bob’s Burgers last year when Gene and Louise are excited because they find a dead seal, and now they have big plans of going and poking it with a stick:

“Well, we’d better get going.” – Gene
“Yeah, that dead seal down at the pier isn’t going to poke itself.” – Louise

3. There was boot washed up on shore. How often does that happen?! If I had gone fishing last week there’s a chance that I could have caught it. I think that would have been quite exciting. Perhaps I’m the only one, but when something from a cartoon happens in real life, I find it incredibly exciting.

4. While it didn’t happen at the beach, Saarah walked the entire way home! While this may not seem like a big deal, it was the very first time that she wasn’t being pushed, pulled, or carried up the hill from town. She has tiny legs, so it’s quite a feat. She was encouraged by promises of helping make Jell-O when we got home. Tevye was more excited by the fact that he had carried a pine cone the entire way. Wow, Tevye. Your sister accomplishes a huge feat, and you’re excited because you manage to hold on to an object weighing 25grams. Congratu-frigging-lations!

We have intention of going to the beach again today, and hopefully I shall remember the camera.

The picture at the top of this page was taken nearly two years ago, and it’s not even the same beach. It is, however, hilarious.

Comments
10 Responses to “Beach Oddities”
  1. Donna says:

    Have fun at the beach today….who would’ve believed it, the beach in March!

  2. stephicakes says:

    I wish I lived near a coast SOOO much!

  3. A boot at the beach–wonderful–but on a fishing line–exquisite! Nice job. HF

  4. sillyliss says:

    I miss living near the beach so, so much. I don’t think about it as often as I used to, but being landlocked makes me feel kind of claustrophobic. If I think about it. Which I don’t. Try to.

    I love that picture of the kids on the beach. Oh my goodness, so much cute. What a great way to spend the day two years ago.

    Also, yay for Teyve and the pinecone!

  5. christine says:

    Hey, if you find a pair of men’s Ray-Bans, they belong to The Dada, We lost them in South Carolina in August, so perhaps a current might have them headed your direction? The boot would have made me chuckle.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

