I Thought This was Behind Us

As I recall, about a week and a half ago, I mentioned that it was almost Spring, and if it was still looking like winter the following Friday, I would be registering a formal complaint. Well last Friday, while it was no longer T shirt weather, it wasn’t bad. Last night, around 9pm, that self-absorbed dickhead that everyone refers to as “Winter” came back, guns a-blazin’! While it’s not crazy cold out, it’s windy as stink(apparently gusting to 90km/h) and still snowing, which means that it’s not the sort of day you want to be playing outside, and certainly not driving. It might be fun to go for a bike ride, though. There’s nothing quite as exhilarating as riding on slick tires, with a 90km/h tailwind as you careen down a poorly paved road covered in ice and snow. Really makes you feel alive!

So, instead of hearing about a terrific outing that the kids and I took today, meandering through a beautiful garden, full of colourful flowers and blossoms on the trees, perhaps stopping at a small cafe to obtain some dainty, delectable pastries and tea, and then returning home for a picnic in the back yard, you get to look at random pictures taken over the last couple of days.

This one happened to take place yesterday, when they were vegging out in the afternoon, watching “Word Girl”. It’s their afternoon tradition, while I’m busy cooking supper, and really just need them to stop running and jumping around for 30 minutes. If you haven’t seen it, it’s pretty terrific, and focuses on expanding the vocabulary of young children. There’s a game show host on the show named “Bo Handsome”, who has a classic handsome game show host voice. Each day, after the show, Tevye and I walk around doing our Bo Handsome impressions. He’s pretty good. I’d say you should hear it, but he’s very shy, so there’s probably no way that he’d do it while you’re around. Sucks to be you!

As is quite often the case, I have absolutely no idea what possessed my goo-gone of a son to do this. He then spent the next 45 minutes walking around, spinning around, and dancing around in this very state. He assured me that he was able to see through the tiny holes in his shirt. Based on the fact that he didn’t run into anything, and was able to navigate throughout the house in this manner leads me to believe that he was telling the truth.

The following evening while wearing his fleece pajamas, he also told me that he was able to see. He clearly was not being completely honest with me that time.

Saarah, never wanting to miss out on anything hilarious, joined right in. I’m actually quite impressed that nobody was hurt during these slightly sightless spinning adventures.

One final story on this cold and snowy day, though there’s no picture to go along with it. Usually twice a week, I bake bread. I don’t recall the last time that we bought bread, but it’s been some time now. I’m not some crazy stuck-up person who feels that any bread purchased at the grocery store isn’t good enough for my family. No, my issue lies in the price. Three bucks a loaf! Good grief. I don’t think so.

Anyways, I was baking bread last week, and while I generally try to make it look nice, putting slits in the top and dusting it with flour, I was running way behind this particular day, and just stuck the darn thing in the oven. As I pulled it out, Tevye, who had been in a funny mood that day, looked at the bread and exclaimed with much enthusiasm “Wow, Tatte! That bread looks amazing!” I was left somewhat speechless at this point. He wasn’t finished yet though, following up his first thought with “It looks like ART!” Well, if that doesn’t make a fella feel special. I had a great big grin on my face at this point, even though I had put significantly less effort into the look of the loaf this time. Sensing that I was happy, Saarah showed up, and not being one to beat around the proverbial bush, informed me, in no uncertain terms that “It looks like NOTHING!” all while wearing her very best Grump Pirate face.

Thanks, Saarah. I love you too.

 

Comments
13 Responses to “I Thought This was Behind Us”
  1. donna says:

    Can you beleive this time last week we were wearing SHORTS? We don’t need more of this white stuff!

  2. christine says:

    Grump pirate is right! What a stinker!

    Sorry about the snow… it cooled off a lot here as well. Windy with thunderstorms on the horizon. I hope today’s indoor adventure is a good one.

    Cheers!

  3. I love when my son gives me compliments and says the sweetest things, always makes me smile 🙂 He of course can also deflate me in a moment and seems to delight in doing so sometimes.

    Oh I have to share something..I do not drink coffee at all, it is a vile substance, but anyway we were at Tim Horton’s yesterday and I decided to have a hot chocolate (I usually just have pop with my doughnut). My beverage came in a roll up the rim cup, which doesn’t happen with pop (unfair isn’t it?)…and…..I won a doughnut! my first roll up the rim cup in years and I won 🙂

    • I was thinking about that just today, as a matter of fact. I don’t quite understand why any of the cold drinks don’t qualify for Roll Up. It’s not fair, at all! You should write a sternly-worded letter voicing your discontent.

  4. Pink Ninjabi says:

    Awesome post! And definitely, even making your own pizzas is cheaper too! WAAAAYyyy cheaper.. Basically, just like bread recipe, and you can adjust quantities, but it’s something like (and don’t quote me on this as my other friend is better at this):

    2 yogurt tubs of white flour (or 1 and a half, experiment)
    handful of dry active baking yeast
    handful of salt
    handful of sugar
    add warm water

    Mix it all together. Put in non-air tight sealed container overnight for it to rise.

    Next day, take out mound, let it sit to room temperature. Stretch dough like Alton Brown’s method or like round and round like steering wheel.

    Add toppings like pizza sauce or pesto sauce, layer on dried vegetables or frozen asparagus (not frozen spinach as it gets soggy). Cheese, parmesan

    Lay it on a oiled and floured pizza crisper. Bake at 25 minutes at 350 degrees.

    When ready, leave it in oven, but open oven door to let it cool (unless kids have habit of crawling in there, in which case, you’ll have to barricade it or something).

    After about 15 or so minutes, you can take it out of oven, and cut with pizza roller or knife. And enjoy!

    There are variations to the amount of flour, and you can also add beaten eggs (like one maximum two) to make a breakfast pizza.

    Lemme know if you have any questions as I can ask my expert friend instead who based her adaptation from books like, Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day: http://www.artisanbreadinfive.com/.

    😀 Pink.

  5. sillyliss says:

    Ahahahahaha, that dickhead of winter. Ahahahahaha, Bo Handsome. Ahahahahaha, tiny holes. Actually, on that last part, it is absolutely possible to see through those tiny holes. I walk around like that at home all the time.

  6. stephicakes says:

    If it makes you feel any better, we did have a prettty lovely day yesterday, and yet, did NONE of this:
    “meandering through a beautiful garden, full of colourful flowers and blossoms on the trees, perhaps stopping at a small cafe to obtain some dainty, delectable pastries and tea, and then returning home for a picnic in the back yard,”
    We did take a walk and admire some of the neighbors flowers because I CANNOT grow things EVER!

    Your kids are SOOOOOO cute, btw! 🙂

    • While I try every single year, I’m also pretty inept when it comes to growing plants. One day I’ll get the hang of it.

      Glad to hear that you had a nice day.

      Thank you! They are pretty swell.

Leave a Reply

