A Real Humdinger – A Household Tip

First off, let me just say how much I enjoy the word “humdinger”. It is truly a fantastic, stupendous word. One might even go so far as to say, a real humdinger of a word! Then again, maybe it’s just me. What I don’t fully understand is why it generally has to be preceded by the word “real”. You don’t generally hear people describe something as simply a humdinger, but rather, a real humdinger. Why is that? I suppose I could look it up.

Alright, I’ve invested a few minutes, and while I can’t seem to back up my theory of the word humdinger generally needing to use “real” as a qualifier, I did discover that it was first used around the year 1904.

Ahem, moving on. So, do you see that sweet-looking boy in the picture? The one who is being kissed by a kitten. The one who’s shirt has a picture of a moose, and states “Moose Valuable Player”, and is possibly the nicest boy on the planet? Well, that boy has a super power. Now, for all of you superhero aficionados out there who are worried that I shouldn’t be discussing someone’s super powers, relax. I doubt very much that he has the ability to use this particular power for the purposes of saving innocent people from the clutches of doom. If, someday down the road, my discussing his powers in this venue prohibits deeds of a good and noble nature, I apologize.

Tevye’s super power is the AMAZING ability to clog any toilet with a single poop! How he can do this is completely beyond me. I’m curious, though not enough to ask for details. I think it actually pertains to excessive toilet paper usage, rather than the size of any given poop. While the frequency has decreased in recent months, for a while it was happening numerous times a week.

You may be wondering why I’m telling you this. Don’t worry, I’m getting to the point. It’s a good point, too. You’ll want to stick around. Trust me.

I was pleading with him to stop pooping, such is my dislike of plunging a toilet. It’s gross, and that’s all there is to it. I could go into all the details, but hey, we’ve all plunged toilets in our life, we all know what’s involved, including, but not limited to, the occasional splatter of poop-water. All you can do is hope and pray that it doesn’t find you, as it careens out of the bowl, somehow aiming straight for your shirt, or worse, exposed skin, as if guided by heat-seeking missile technology.

We bought a new toilet last year, and while it’s a terrific toilet, using a fraction of the water that our WWII-era behemoth used, it has one significant flaw: The shape, coupled with the limited water in the bowl, make plunging near impossible. Enter the Super Pooper!

I can hear some of your discontent with today’s post “Seriously, this is gross, are you almost to the point?”. Yes, I am almost there.

One day, there was a clog that, after an hour(oh how I wish I was speaking in hyperbole, oh how I wish) and was thoroughly exhausted and frustrated, I was ready to call a plumber and ask for professional help. Perhaps a psychiatrist as well, and explain that I’d been yelling at a toilet for the past 45 minutes(I managed to remain calm, cool, and collected for the first 15 minutes) as if it had feelings and was retaining this clog deliberately. Desperate, I turned to the internet. Ah the internet, is there no question you can’t answer?

Here is a great trick that will save you hours of frustration, your back, and your mind. It is also the point of this post. It may seem like a crazy idea, but it works. I don’t know why it works, and I don’t care. It’s the most wonderful discovery I have ever made.

1. When most of the water is at it’s lowest possible point in the bowl, pour in a large quantity of dish soap(the kind you use if you wash dishes by hand. Do not use dishwasher detergent, or laundry detergent).

2. Wait a few minutes

3. Get a large bucket of really hot water. You can just crank the hot water tap in your bathtub or shower and fill it up with that.

4. Pour the water into the toilet bowl from waist-height, and pour it quickly. Don’t pour slowly, it doesn’t seem to work as well.

At this point, your toilet should be running smooth. If it’s not, plunge a few times, and that should do it. If it’s still clogged, repeat the process. We haven’t had a clog that this hasn’t worked on, though apparently it wont work if your small child has flushed plastic toys. Thankfully that has never been an issue for us.

Again, I know this may seem like a ridiculous trick, but it’s awesome.

Comments
21 Responses to “A Real Humdinger – A Household Tip”
  1. stephicakes says:

    Well, thanks for the tip.
    Also, my son’s only superpower is that he grows fingernails REALLY REALLY fast. Too bad our sons don’t have more productive or profitable superpowers, eh?

  2. Pink Ninjabi says:

    HILARIOUS! Like, I’m so glad I turned my computer on to read blogs like this hilarious. Thank you for sharing. Another technique is to wait 24 hours. Or get those super plungers, those black ones, (not those crappy pink ones). And it’s not just you. My friend’s five year old is quite the Super Eater making him also the Super Pooper as well. It’s a talent? 😀

    Pink

  3. BLC says:

    sometimes I grieve not being a father… sometimes NOT! 🙂

  4. sillyliss says:

    I can no longer here the word “humdinger” without thinking of a pedophile on the run with his nymphet. Too bad for the word “humdinger” and me. : )

    Oh man, oh man. I did not see the super amazing poop story coming. You caught me off guard completely. That was a real humdinger!

    Yes!! Humdinger is back! Real ones, that is.

  5. Although super grossed out at the moment I am also grateful for the tip 🙂

  6. christine says:

    Oh, Tevye. You super-pooper, you. In a few years you can require him to plunge his own poop. Then he can be a super-pooper, pooper-plunger!

  7. meizac says:

    Why don’t they tell expecting parents to learn the intricacies of plumbing? Seriously. Oh well, I’ve become so skilled, I can use it as a fall back if this venture back into post-secondary ed doesn’t pan out.

    • I, too, have become a much better plumber as a result of being a) a parent, and b) a homeowner. It’s amazing the things you learn when something has to be fixed, and money doesn’t allow for hiring professionals.

  8. stern786 says:

    Just curious: What does the name Tevye mean?

  9. The J85 says:

    This trick doesn’t work on flushed shorts either 😀 Yes, I’ve actually had to deal with that one….can’t figure out how that girl walked out of the fast food restaurant without shorts and didn’t get noticed though (I KNOW that day she wouldn’t have had pants with her to change into either)

  10. stephicakes says:

    I thought of you on Saturday because I read something that used the word humdinger, without the “real” too. But now I cant remember what it was. 😦

    • Oh, that’s too bad that you can’t remember. The important thing is that people are using the word “humdinger” with or without the qualifying “real” in front of it.

Leave a Reply

