You Can’t Win Everyday

When deciding to do this post, it was suggested to me that we could go outside today and the kids could ride their bikes while I take pictures. While this might seem like a good idea, due to the fact that I’m not feeling well, and it’s not overly warm outside, I’m going to take the easy way out and put up pictures that were taken last year.

Perhaps this makes me a slacker, and perhaps I’m alright with that. Then again, while I was out riding yesterday, my delightful wife took the kids out on their bikes and didn’t bother to bring the camera, and she felt fine! Who’s the slacker now, eh?!

Whenever Tevye gets on his bike, and rockets up and down the street far faster than his poor mother is anywhere close to being comfortable with, he pretends that he’s Ryder Hesjedal(a professional cyclist from Victoria, BC. He and I went to the same school, though he graduated the year before I started). Tevye, while pretending to be Hesjedal, likes to stand up on his pedals, pushing as hard as he can while racing up the French Alps. Generally he wins the race, and as a result, gets kisses from the podium girls, though he tells me that he didn’t win yesterday.

I think that Tevye is possibly the only four year old boy in town who pretends to be a professional cyclist. Oh sure, there are plenty or young children pretending to be hockey players, or even football players, but cyclists?

Saarah, while not pretending to be a particular cyclist, reminds me on a daily basis that she will be purchasing the two of us matching Cervelos when she’s older, and then we can go for rides together. I’m quite looking forward to going for rides together, even if we don’t end up with matching bikes.

Comments
12 Responses to “You Can’t Win Everyday”
  1. sillyliss says:

    My mother’s older brother was a year behind or so in the class of Neil Diamond. I thought you would want to know, because it doesn’t relate to this post at all.

    I just googled Cervelo. Now that seems to be a pretty neat bike. I’ll have to work my way up from Vanilla Ice to get there, though.

    It’s too bad Teyve didn’t win yesterday. I bet he came in second!

    • The Neil Diamond bit cracked me up.

      He didn’t say where he placed overall. I thought it was funny that even in his pretending he didn’t get the result he wanted.

  2. I like how kids will often take their parents interests so much to heart and I imagine you are correct that not too many other kids pretend to be cyclists, but somewhere out there are kids who go sledding and pretend to be luge athletes, children who pretend that they are world famous discus throwers and if you happen to be my child a world famous chef (he really likes to watch the Food Network, especially Chopped and act the show out and just to make it all the more fun he uses his hockey cards to determine who the contestants will be…Wayne Gretzky is a much better hockey player then he is chef, my son assures me).

  3. stephicakes says:

    I am so TICKLED by the fact that, not only does he pretend to be a professional cyclist, he pretends to LOSE. What a sweetheart!

  4. christine says:

    What a dear. Got to love that Tevye.

  5. Pink Ninjabi says:

    Get well soon! Love your blogs! Even if you think you’re slacking (I mean, feeling not so up to par, and raising two children. Yeah, oh yes, you are a slacker). 😀

    Pink.

  6. the speech monster says:

    love reading your posts. they’re always refreshing! since someone nominated me for this blog award and the rules say to pass it on i’ve decided to tag you! so check out my blog for more deets.

  7. Forrest says:

    It makes me happy to see parents encouraging their (young) kids to ride bikes. And probably more so in the winter and early spring – seasons progress slowly here – because I haven’t seen kids on bikes much lately.

    My parents had a sort of carriage they’d attach to the rear of one of their bikes, and pull me around the neighborhood. I thought it was wonderful! They made sure I had some kind of bike through my childhood. We grew up in the middle of nowhere, and, among other things, a bike was a way for me to visit friends without having to schedule a ride from a parent. But that was just the tip of the iceberg.

    Anyway, I’m 34 now, and still riding bikes. They still bring me joy, physical and emotional health, and bring happiness and interest to my life. What a wonderful gift for my parents to have given me! The reason I say this here: all their lives, your children will thank you for getting them off to a good, and healthy, start.

Leave a Reply

