So Happy Together

I had made the subtle suggestion that I would appreciate it if the kids would be so kind as to play nicely and quietly while I’m getting some work done this morning. The rules are, as always, no running in the house, no jumping on the couch, no leaping through the air and using the couch or chair as a launching pad, and certainly no yelling or arguing. Just, you know, play nicely.

While things were going along just fine, I could hear, from my vantage point, that there was a lot of walking very quickly back and forth from the living room to their bedrooms. While they were abiding by all of Tatte’s ridiculous rules(I know, I’m a hard-ass), the back and forth means only one thing: A mess was developing, and it was growing with every trip made between the front and back of the house.

I realized that if there was any chance I’d be able to tackle this ever-growing mess would be if I intervened immediately. I quickly emerged from my hide-out to discover Saarah heading back to the living room. When she saw me, she was sporting this face, which means that she’s up to something.

I asked what they were up to, and got the usual “We’re just playing” in response. I hate this response, as it’s not only completely unhelpful, but usually said as though I’ve asked them every 36 seconds for the past hour, and they’re completely fed up with my constant questions.

I looked in the living room and was greeted by books everywhere. Upon each of the books sat one of Saarah’s 10,786 stuffed animals. Since they weren’t even playing with most of these things that they had out, I asked if they might put some of their things away. They happily obliged.

Of course, I didn’t actually take a picture until they were half-way done putting things away.

Now, being the complete and utter jerk that I am, I ask that they put things away where they belong, and don’t just make a mess elsewhere(it seems counterproductive, as they’re just going to have to clean up their new mess later. We don’t necessarily see eye-to-eye on this point, as they figure that I’ll end up cleaning it up eventually. Stinkers)

They were moving back and forth between the two rooms too darn quickly once again, which lead me to believe that they were throwing everything on Saarah’s bed and calling it a day. As usual, I was right.

I’m happy to report that they’ve since moved on to making other messes, but at least they’re making messes nicely together, and playing happily. It’s always nice to see them getting along so well. I really don’t know what they’re going to do when Tevye goes to school and Saarah is still at home. Even if Saarah decides to have a nap mid-afternoon, Tevye’s completely at a loss of what to do and usually attaches himself to my ankles.

Some people gave us a hard time when it was discovered that the charming fruits of my loins would be born only 16 months apart, claiming that it would be more difficult. I don’t think it could have worked out any better than it did. They’re the best of friends, and always have been. From the moment Saarah was born, they’ve been completely inseparable. I don’t know if it will last forever, but it sure is nice.

 

Comments
10 Responses to “So Happy Together”
  1. sillyliss says:

    I feel like the blogs are having an unintentional, coincidental, cosmic nod toward 60’s music today. Tell me if I’m wrong about that.

    My kids do the same thing. Crazy, huh? “We’re just playing.” *face* Yep! Then they “clean up” by dumping everything onto Emilia’s floor in the middle of her bedroom. Perhaps in the middle of the night when I know they are not sleeping anyway, all the little children of the world are connected by paper cups and strings and are telling each other the secrets of childhood. That’s what I think is going on here.

    That last picture is the sweetest thing ever ever ever.

  2. donna says:

    Enjoy them getting along as long as it lasts! 🙂

  3. Pink Ninjabi says:

    Soooo cute! Love the photo! Sooo cute! Awww… totally cheers me up and reminds me of what’s important in life. Thank you for sharing. 😀

    Pink.

  4. stephicakes says:

    This is exactly the kind of stuff that makes me wish my kids were spaced closer together. I hope they’ll still play together. But there will be many years of solo kid clinging to my ankles (there have been several of those years already.)

  5. christine says:

    What dears. You are two lucky parents, Moishe.

Leave a Reply

