The Famous Harmonica Players

It’s funny listening to Tevye and Saarah develop their vocabulary. One day they discover a new word, and suddenly they wont stop using it. Currently the word of choice is “famous”. I’m not sure where they heard it, or what the original context was, but suddenly, everything is “The famous (insert noun-of-choice here)”, whether it actually be famous or not. 99.9%, no, I’m just being nice, 100% of the time, there isn’t anything even remotely famous about what they’re yammering about, but there they are, describing it as “famous” anyways.

Recently, I’ve gotten in on the action, and started describing my fingers as “The famous ticklers”, which apparently is Saarah’s cue to start shrieking while curling up in a ball, so as to protect her ticklish tummy. Good thing, for the famous ticklers then, that she’s ticklish pretty much everywhere, and they always succeed. Perhaps their rate-of-success is what has lead to their fame.

I would say that their obsession with the word “famous” came from an episode of Curious George, when the Man with the Yellow Hat describes some culinary concoction that he produces as “his famous whatever-it-was”, but that episode hasn’t been on nearly recently enough for that to be the source.

As for them playing the harmonica, it is actually my harmonica that they’re spitting all over. I’ve tried a couple of times to learn, though so far have been horribly unsuccessful. I try and encourage them to play with it, in the hopes that they’ll end up with some semblance of musical talent. Whenever I try and do anything even remotely musical, it comes out sounding like a cat in heat, which, for those of you who haven’t had the joy of hearing such sounds, is not pleasant.

I’ve decided to warn you in advance of my rant. If you do not wish to read it, then stop here. If you’re up for reading while I get my knickers in a twist over nothing, then please continue.

While I’m on the subject, can people please stop referring to their own food as “My famous …”, because odds are, it’s not even remotely famous. Aside from being grammatically incorrect, it’s just plain conceited. Julia Child never once referred to her Boeuf Bourguignon as her “Famous Beef Stew”, nor has Gordon Ramsay ever prefaced Beef Wellington with the words “My famous”, despite the fact that both of them would be more than entitled to do so.

Okay, I’m done now. You may all resume whatever it is that you were previously doing.

Comments
10 Responses to “The Famous Harmonica Players”
  1. You just reminded me of this day, when my daughter was 4 years old. We were trick-or-treating and she thought SHE was famous, so at every house she would say “Trick-or-Treat, but no pictures, please!” It was so funny. Famous ticklers, I have about 10 of those myself! 🙂

  2. sillyliss says:

    I’m hiding right now, from the Famous Ticklers (I’ve heard about them; there is good reason to hide), but when I come out, I will share with you my recipe for World Famous Coffee. If Wolfgang Puck can make coffee with his name on it, so can I, right?

  3. Just started reading your blog. Lots of fun. My 3 year old is in to saying “sure” instead of “yes” which annoyed the crap out of me until I realized that she got it from me. Sigh.

    • It’s funny how little things like that can be so annoying. There’s no reason that it should be so bothersome, and yet it is.

      Finding out that their annoying habits come from us is the worst.

  4. Funny. I love rants and Curious George.

  5. christine says:

    I adore the vocabularic evolution (particularly when made up words are involved). Your kids should be… well… famous.

Leave a Reply

