Time for a Nap

I was this close to not putting up a post today, primarily because I couldn’t think of a darn thing to write about. I once read a blog entry where the whole purpose of the poorly written ramblings were that the “writer” wanted to inform his readers that he had nothing to write about on this particular day. Since I was annoyed as heck reading this, I vowed to have something, however small, to actually talk about in my posts.

Sometime within the past year a Holiday Inn has been erected adjacent to the highway in a nearby town. That’s my whole story, folks. I took a part of your day, and you’ll never get it back now.

Alright, so there’s more to the story. While I may not generally have anything riveting or philosophical to share with you, I wouldn’t just give you “A hotel was built next to the highway at some point recently”.

On the other side of the highway from this very lonely-looking hotel stands everything you might expect to find in a small Canadian town. Actually, now that I’m thinking about it, it’s really got everything that is quintessentially Canadian, crammed and squished together in a very small area. It’s quite remarkable. Of course, one of the many shops in this area is Tim Hortons, and it is this particular location that we’ve been frequenting recently. As far as I know, we had never discussed what each individual store was with the children, and we certainly hadn’t mentioned what the hotel across the highway was, which is what makes the following interaction all the more ridiculous:

Saarah: “We should go to that hotel over there.”

Parent: “Why should we go to the hotel?”

Saarah, sounding unbelievably genuine in her response: “Because I’m tired and I want a nap.”

I suppose that makes sense, though I imagine it would be an expensive nap.

Comments
6 Responses to “Time for a Nap”
  1. Ha! I could use a nap too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. donna says:

    Love her “comfortable position” for a nap!

  3. Pink Ninjabi says:

    Great post! Blocks seem to be hitting up all writers like some kind of invisible wave. We’re always to be part of any ramblings. ๐Ÿ˜€ And yeah, I really can’t stand blog critics. It’s like, “if you have nothing nice to say, why criticize at all.” Naysayers. Meh. Blogs are for ourselves. A way to feel connected in this world of small towns and grand buildings. I mean, I would never go up to a random stranger and start talking about my life. Blogs allow us to connect with one another. To the heart of it all. What’s most important.

    And oh yes, to see the most adorable pics ever!

    Pink.

  4. stephicakes says:

    A. That picture of Saarah is the cutest thing I’ve seen since leaving my baby this morning! Seriously, that is SOOO cute and sweet and it makes me smile.
    b. I wish that had been the whole thing. That thought makes me laugh. Just, “Sometime within the past year a Holiday Inn has been erected adjacent to the highway in a nearby town.” I don’t know why that tickles me so much, lol.

Leave a Reply

