It’s Pronounced “Lentils”

Poor Tevye woke up feeling horribly sick yesterday morning, and spent the majority of the day either resting on the couch, or sleeping in his bed. He didn’t even get up until 11am, and then by 2pm he was back in his bed, sawing logs. He didn’t eat much of anything all day, claiming that he wasn’t the least bit hungry.

When it came time for supper, I, like any good Jewish parent, made soup. Since Tevye is the only one of us who is currently under the weather(can you say that you’re “under the weather” when you’re on a plane?), I made soup with substance, and not just plain chicken broth with kneidelach(not that there’s anything wrong with that, but I was hungry like the wolf. Bam! Now that song is stuck in your head. I win!). Along with vegetables, broth, and quinoa, the soup also contained lentils. I only put a few in, as most of the residents of our house don’t enjoy them.

As we were eating, Miss Picky-Pants was inquiring what each ingredient in the soup was. I’m always torn between being honest, and having her decide that she wont be consuming THAT, thank you very much, and telling her that everything is made of chocolate, in the hope that she might believe me and eat everything quickly and nicely. Last night I opted for the former, informing her that the items-in-question were lentils.

“I don’t love mentals.”

“No, Saarah, “Lentils”, with an “L”.”

She kept saying it her way, and I kept trying to correct her through my stifled laughter, pleading and begging that she never every refer to them this way in the future.

I think I’ll call them chocolate next time.

Comments
5 Responses to “It’s Pronounced “Lentils””
  1. sillyliss says:

    I’m not sure I like mentals either. I would probably take each mental out with my spoon and drip them on my napkin, thus requiring a second napkin. Chocolate soup, that really sounds like something. Would it have Tootsie Rolls floating in it? Did the soup make Teyve feel all better? Soup fixes everything. Especially chocolate soup with mentos…

    • I don’t know if chocolate soup exists, but I imagine it might have tootsie rolls in it(I’ve always had a special place in my heart for tootsie rolls).
      Tevye doesn’t seem to be feeling any better today, sadly, so I suppose the soup didn’t work. I have a feeling that chocolate soup with mentos might have made things worse.

  2. Lotus Mama says:

    Lol. Somehow, lentils are also mispronounced on a regular basis in my family…mostly because my german mother would always remind us to finish the “lentens” in her “Lenten soup” hen we were kids. So now we refer to them in my own family as that out of senti-‘mental’ 🙂 reasons as well as our deep appreciation of my mum’s hard efforts when she does prepare it! Btw, shouldn’t all things really contain some amount of chocolate anyway? That way you can be honest with your daughter and she can eat a good healthy, hearty soup!

  3. christine says:

    My wise brother- and sister-in-law tell their daughter the truth, followed by, “There’s good sugar in it!” Sounds win-win to me!

  4. Pink Ninjabi says:

    LOVE! Giggled so hard I forgot about my nasty colleague. Thank you so much! 😀

    Looks like I work with some ‘mentals’ here myself. 😀

    Pink.

Leave a Reply

