Saarah’s Sneaky Secrets

On Friday morning, while I still wasn’t feeling well, I was determined to write a blog post. I sat in front of the computer, searching through pictures and wracking my brain, trying to come up with something that I might share. While I sat here, I could hear the children in another room, and it sounded as though they were playing nicely together.

Eventually, I decided to go and see what they were up to, hoping that they might give me some sort of inspiration for the day’s post. Sometimes they’re playing an interesting game, or being wonderfully creative, amazing both myself, as well as their worldwide readership. I was especially hopeful for this, as they had taken colouring supplies from the office, and had trundled back to the living room earlier.

As I walked out towards their location, getting ever closer to where, I had assumed, they were behaving themselves, Tevye exclaimed “Quick, hide your candy!”

Now, as a parent who hadn’t previously given them any candy, I wasn’t sure if they were just pretending, or if they had actually gone into the cupboard when I wasn’t looking, and procured some of their left-over chocolates. As far as I was aware, they had never done anything like this before, so I really wasn’t sure what to believe.

When I arrived in the living room, they both had their little faces buried in the couch cushions, hands tightly clutched beneath them. At this point, it looked as though they had actually taken chocolate without my  permission, though I was still holding on to the possibility that this wasn’t the truth. When I demanded that they hand over their candy, they both hesitated momentarily, and then placed mostly wrapped chocolates in my hand.

I was a little surprised, and while I was a little disappointed that they had been sneaking things behind my back, I was also a little bit proud. It’s a natural point of a child’s development, and judging by the number of wrappers I found stuffed into couch cushions later on(there weren’t THAT many, but there were certainly a few), they had successfully pulled the wool over my eyes more than once. I wanted to be able to congratulate them, and tell them that they’d done a great job of tricking me, but that wouldn’t be the responsible thing to do. No, I had to reprimand them for their behaviour.

Once I had gotten past the purloined chocolates, I noticed something that looked suspiciously like hair on the floor. It was fine, blonde hair, and it was more than a few hairs that had fallen out due to brushing. Upon examination of my tiny daughter’s head, I discovered that she had decided to give herself bangs.

Now, obviously I wasn’t too thrilled about the idea of her giving herself a haircut, BUT she did a decent job of it. Her hair looked like it had, at one point, been professionally cut, but then had grown out and was now in need of a trim and a tidy, which is exactly what we did the following morning(Tevye was in dire need of a haircut anyways).

In case you were wondering, these pictures were taken this morning, post professional haircut, though she was putting up a big stink about letting Mama do her hair today, which is why it looks messy. She also refused to just smile nicely for me, insisting that she make as goofy a face as possible for all the pictures.

She promised the haircut lady that she wouldn’t try to cut her own hair again, so we’ll see how well that works.

Comments
8 Responses to “Saarah’s Sneaky Secrets”
  1. Christine says:

    Oh no. Thankfully, Alice has yet to cut her own hair. I hope it never occurs to her. That said, your Saarah looks darned cute with bangs…

    • We had talked about her getting bangs, and I hadn’t been too keen on the idea, as I liked her hair just the way it was. She really forced me into this one, but now that it’s done, she does look awfully cute.

  2. sillyliss says:

    I love Sarah’s faces, and I love her bangs. And I love that you are proud of them for tricking you. Someday, perhaps they will be double agents or professional hair cutters or executive level candy hiders. 😀 😀 😀

    • Perhaps Saarah will be a secret agent who uses being a hair stylist as her cover.

      Also, I’m not entirely certain what an executive level candy hider entails, but it sounds as though it pays well!

  3. Kathy V. says:

    I love the goofy faces — they’re much more interesting and memorable than yet more pictures of children smiling nicely! And she’s adorable. She deserves chocolate just for being cute (but don’t tell my kid I said that).

  4. stephicakes says:

    Oh, I love her bangs! I think it makes little girls look younger, and since I’m determined to keep my children as tiny babes forever….
    I could totally SEE the kids burrowing into the couch with their contraband, so cute!

    I have to tell you though- have you ever heard of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil? Its a movie and a book and there’s a drag queen in it, who often talks about “hiding her candy.” I’ll let you guess what s/he’s talking about. It’s not chocolates in the couch cusions.

  5. Pink Ninjabi says:

    LOVE this post! Love! Yeah, I gave myself bangs once too. Not a pretty picture. Especially when I thought the way to get rid of them was by shaving them, and trim a new set. Only to find the old ones poking through. And yes, I was, ah-hem, 14 years old. Sigh. At least she’s learning at a young age! Awkward! I was. 😀

    Pink.

  6. KL says:

    So cute! I have heard of many little girls trying out a home haircut at one point or another. My son tested his hair cutting skills on our cat’s whiskers…
    As for the hiding chocolates, yes, that’s a pretty normal stage of development too. My son tried to sneak some chocolate ice cream when he was three and he sat on the windowsill behind the curtain to eat it. I have never been able to get the stain out of that white curtain!

Leave a Reply

