We Now Return to Regularly-Scheduled Blogging

I apologize for not blogging more in the past few weeks, but there have been numerous distractions. We had some guests with us for a few weeks, which was very nice. There was also the issue of the Giro d’Italia being broadcast at exactly the same time I’m normally sitting down to blog. Not only is it one of the biggest cycling events every year, but it looked as though Ryder Hesjedal might become the first Canadian to ever win such an event. With each passing day the gap seemed to narrow(actually, it held pretty steady at around 30 seconds, but given the fact that they were racing for more than 95 hours over a period of three weeks, covering over 3500 kilometers, that isn’t very much time) and we sat progressively closer to the edge of our seats. Nails were bitten at a such a high rate of speed that it’s a wonder fingers weren’t inadvertently injured.

In the end though, as I’m sure the photo at the top of this page leads you to believe, Hesjedal prevailed, and in so doing, made history. The final difference was a very slim 16 seconds! The celebratory spray of champagne lasted longer than 16 seconds(I can’t actually back that up with proof. I suppose I could go re-watch it and time it, but honestly, I have no intention of doing that).

The win couldn’t have gone to a nicer guy, either. In a world of Prima Donna professional athletes, whining and complaining over nothing, there is no professional athlete that comes to my mind who is more of a class act than Ryder Hesjedal. It is because of his character that I encourage my children to take note of who he is, and how he behaves. And I know they’re paying close attention, because they’re perpetually pretending to be him when they’re on their bikes in front of our house(yesterday they acted out the entire award ceremony, from the ladies putting on his pink jersey, to getting a kiss, to listening to the national anthem). He is truly gracious in both winning and losing, and it’s so refreshing to see. You’ll never see him being boastful when he wins, nor will you see him making excuses when he doesn’t.

I’m extremely proud to say that he and I grew up only a short bike ride from one another, but more than that, I’m thankful for the example he’s setting for my children of what good sportsmanship is all about.

Thank you and Congratulations Ryder Hesjedal!

I can’t be certain, but I believe that the Pope is giving Hesjedal a thumbs-up on the picture hanging behind him

With that being said, I shall now resume blogging five times a week. Again, I apologize for the interruption, and it wont happen again(at least until the Tour de France)

Leave a Reply

