On becoming “Quite Old”

As the candles on this cake might suggest, someone recently had their 29th birthday. I’m not going to say who it was, but suffice it to say he’s quite a handsome, charming, delightful, and all-round wonderful sort of fella. Alright, so perhaps I’m exaggerating slightly(or greatly) on some or all of those points. The point is that my birthday was this past Sunday.

Tevye was significantly more excited for my birthday than I was. He wouldn’t stop reminding us over the past week that it was almost May 27th, and as such, Tatte’s birthday. I pointed out that more importantly the final day of the bike race was also that day, and that was something we could ALL get excited about. He was still more excited for my birthday, though. That makes one of us.

So eventually the big day came, and apparently both Tevye and I had the same thought that morning. Upon looking in the mirror while brushing my teeth, I realized that it was exactly one year until I would turn 30. Tevye, a couple hours later, confirmed with Mama that I was now 29(I had spend the past two weeks trying to convince people that I would be turning 22, though nobody was buying it), and decided that an appropriate response to this new information would be to tell everyone and anyone who happened to be listening “Wow, that’s quite old!”

In the words of Tevye from Fiddler on the Roof “How often does a man receive a compliment like that?!”

 

Comments
13 Responses to “On becoming “Quite Old””
  1. Andrew says:

    Well when in doubt, go to Fiddler on the Roof. I thought I was the only one.

  2. Donna says:

    Happy Belated birthday. I have one coming up in a week, and I’m wishing it was only my 29th!!
    How great to celebrate your birthday with a bike race!

  3. Christine says:

    Quite old indeed. Happy Birthday!

    • I’m going to be picking out a bench at the mall this week, as I understand when you get to be my age, this is all people do. Also, I suppose that I’ll need to investigate walkers soon.

  4. Pink Ninjabi says:

    Happy Belated Birthday! HAHA…

    Pink.

  5. sillyliss says:

    LOL! Well happy birthday! Twenty-nine is kind of awesome. Right up against 30 but you still seem super young to me because you’re still in your 20’s. Well, quite young, I should say.

    I think it’s so sweet that Teyve thinks your birthday is more important than bicycle races. Awww.

  6. Kathy V. says:

    Happy birthday! 29 is a good age to be. I myself have been 29 for years.

  7. Dr Iffi says:

    can get totally what u r talking about ……….. just turned 30 years old and I seem soooo old to myself

Leave a Reply

