Ever-Expanding Artistic Talents

Woah, hold up there! You mean to tell me that anything about that picture constitutes “artistic talent”?

As a matter of fact, I do. Alright, so I’m actually more impressed by the details that Tevye is now including in his drawings. For a long time he drew heads, which included eyes and a mouth, with long legs coming out the bottom. You could tell who was who in the drawing based solely on the length of their legs. Of course, when you’re only a toddler, all you see of adults is their legs. That is, until you get picked up, at which point you focus predominantly on their head. Well, now I suppose that makes sense.

Eventually, Tevye started adding arms to his large-headed people, though not always. Still, the differentiating features in the people in his drawings were the legs.

It stayed this way, until one day he drew a picture of Mama, and she had hair. It was a wonderful picture, and I believe we made sure to hang on to that one(full disclosure: we don’t actually keep every single page that they’ve ever scribbled on. They seem to think that they all deserve to be on the fridge. Since the fridge pictures can be upwards of 10 deep at times, we tend to cull the ones that aren’t desirable. Perhaps this makes us terrible parents. Perhaps it makes us normal. I would say that if you believe each and every picture that a child draws should be kept, then there’s a very good chance that you don’t have kids. Either that, or you’re masquerading  your hoarding-tendencies as being a sentimental parent. Hey jerk, quit hiding behind your kids and go get help).

Yesterday, after he finished his homework, Tevye wanted to colour. So off he went to fetch the supplies he needed, and then got straight to work. Tevye didn’t even bother to show me his latest creation, but rather left it on my desk in the hopes I might discover it on my own.

Note the ears, nose, and feet. I wasn’t certain if the person he drew was wearing a yarmulke, but it turns out that’s his forehead. While Tevye normally draws a specific person, this is “just a man”. I was so excited when I saw it, that I immediately wanted to hang it up in the office so that I could look at it each day. He told me that he wanted me to put it up in my bedroom.

I was hoping that by the time Mama got home from work he may have forgotten that he wanted it hung in a specific location, but he was still insistent that it be hung in our room.

 

Comments
16 Responses to “Ever-Expanding Artistic Talents”
  1. donna says:

    …and would those be green boogers in your nose? 😉 lol

  2. With my first child I saved EVERYTHING. I had a rubbermaid box celebrating PreK. Thank goodness I got a handle on that. By the 7th kid, it’s toss n go! Now days I scan the good stuff, save the truly remarkable, and everything else is recycled. But every now and then I too am caught by a pre-schooler who insists they want their masterpiece displayed in specific places, I hate it when that happens! LOL

    • At first I was tempted to keep everything, but I’ve since learned that this is an impossible goal. I think I’m just going to hang his picture in the office, and if he puts up a stink about it then I’ll move it.

  3. Kathy V. says:

    It’s a lovely picture, but I have to say — pretty alarming to wake up in the middle of the night and find that sucker looking at you.

    • Yeah, I hadn’t thought about that until you mentioned it. I suppose I’d better not put it on the ceiling above the bed, otherwise I might give myself a fright.

  4. Pink Ninjabi says:

    HAHAH.. awesome post! And yes, I’m the kind who believes in saving everything because I don’t have kids and only hoard cutie patootie pics hand drawn. HAHA. Great post!

    Pink.

  5. stephicakes says:

    I LOVED your explanation of the heads with legs stage they all seem to go through. Makes perfect sense!
    Check out this: http://twentytwowords.com/2011/07/02/tattoo-of-a-childs-drawing/
    and this: http://itswrittenonthewalls.blogspot.com/2012/02/custom-making-soft-toys-with-children.html
    and this: http://www.formiadesign.com/your-childs-design/
    and that’s just the tip of the iceberg of cool stuff to do with special doodles. Sticking them on the fridge is pretty cool too, though, and totally what we do with them.

  6. sheismrsbeasley says:

    Okay, this reminded me of the funniest thing. When my daughter (now 7) was in a 2 year old preschool class, her teacher told me that she was showing signs of being very creative because she included more facial features than just the eyes and mouth. She drew lots of hair–she has lots of curly hair herself, so I guess she would just recreate what she saw in the mirror–eyelashes, eyebrows, teeth, lips, the works. I trusted this teacher’s assessment because I knew she had done some study on brain development when her children were small. So naturally I was pleased. About a year later when we were visiting my parents, she drew pictures of all of us. They were very detailed, right down to the gray stubble growing on my husband’s face. I oohed and ahhed over the rich detail and proudly took the picture to my mother for her praise of my sweet girl’s creativity, and by extension, my parenting. My mother is the one that noticed that she had also made sure that this picture of my husband was also anatomically correct. I’m not sure how I missed it because she was VERY GENEROUS. I’m not kidding. She drew a line from his crotch down past his knees and explained to Mimi that this was daddy exiting the shower. He became very careful about bathroom privacy from that moment on. And being completely unable to keep something this funny to myself, I posted the picture and explanation on facebook. Yep. I’m that mom.

    • That’s a fantastic story! Thanks so much for sharing it. I’ve always been rather conservative when it comes to being naked around my children, and will go to great lengths to avoid being seen in such a state whenever possible. Sometimes, right as I’m opening the shower curtain, the bathroom door will fly open and there will be Saarah, intent on asking me some highly important question, like “can she have Cheerios for breakfast?”

      I’m happy to report that it doesn’t happen nearly as often anymore.

      • sheismrsbeasley says:

        That’s precisely how husband was and is. With toddlers, there’s just no privacy. Now we’ve got Eden old enough to respect privacy, but we’ve started over training the younger daughter!

  7. 3wkids says:

    I think it’s lovely!
    children don’t have any boundaries and this is a big plus for them 🙂

Leave a Reply

