I’ll Be Hugging You

When I started blogging again, I mentioned that I was hoping to start working in the near future. Well, as my first week of daily posts, followed by a week with only one might suggest, I was able to procure suitable employment. It wasn’t easy, let me tell you, but I did it. I had to bribe three people, paint someone’s house, and I believe I’m locked into walking some lady’s dog for the next three years, but hey, it all paid off(this may or may not be an exaggeration of actual events. It may also be an outright lie).

One week in, and it’s going swimmingly. I’m working for a local hardware store that we frequent quite regularly, usually looking for caseloads of sandpaper and various lengths of rope. Now, I hear you asking “What do you possibly need those items for?” That’s none of your damn business!

Last Saturday we were in dire need of some sandpaper, and it was suggested to me on our way home from the grocery store, that we stop in and pick some up. I complained bitterly about having to go into work on my day off, but it turns out that that excuse only works if you’ve actually performed work at that particular location, and haven’t just been hired. Actually, given our unrelenting need of 50 grit sandpaper, I doubt that excuse would fly if I’d already worked there for 50 years.

I waited to tell the kids that I’d be going to work until I’d been hired, as opposed to just going to the interview. If I hadn’t managed to get hired, I’m 95% certain that they would’ve made fun of me, blaming my lack of employment on my horrendously stinky farts, and the fact that I’m so old.

Once I told them, poor Tevye burst into tears. I don’t know that I’ve seen him more upset by news than he was at that particular moment. I had no idea that he would react in such a fashion. He told me that he would miss me when I was working, and I assured him that I would miss him too. I also explained that I’d spend most of my time at work while he is in school, dazzling all the other kids in his class with his brilliant mind.

This seemed to help.

But wait! If you order one set of Fatherly Reassurance right now, we’ll double your order! You’ll only have to pay separate shipping and handling. Operators are standing by.

To further help how he was feeling(and how I was now feeling. Geez, talk about feeling horribly guilty. Your son wants nothing more than to spend time with you in the afternoon, playing hockey in the basement and learning how to make supper the way you do, and you go and do a thing like this!), I told him that sometimes I’ll have to work on the weekends, and when I do he can come and visit. Since I’ll be working in a specific location, I was able to give him directions on how to find me.

It was at this point he brightened up somewhat, and said “When we come to the hardware store, if you ask me if I need help finding anything, I’ll be hugging you.”

Aww, well I will most definitely be looking forward to that hug.

Comments
11 Responses to “I’ll Be Hugging You”
  1. sillyliss says:

    Oh so sweet!! Good luck with the new job and all that sandpaper!

  2. sudiecrouch says:

    That is precious! Best of luck with the new job! 🙂

  3. Good luck with the new job.
    Tough reaction from Tevye – no guilt there.
    Hope you get that hug soon.

  4. Donna says:

    Ah, that explains it, I thought I saw your trudging up the road towards the “mall” the other morning on my way to the pool! Congrats on procuring the job!

  5. disciple254 says:

    That’s too cute 👍

Leave a Reply

