Why is it Dangerous?

Upon finding out that you’re going to be a parent, a variety of thoughts may go through your head. From my own experience, you’ll get anxious, not knowing how people will react when you tell them(especially if it’s your first child).

You’ll get excited, thinking ahead to all of the great moments you’re going to experience with the fruits of your loins, like teaching them to ride a bike, taking them to their first hockey game, or introducing them to scotch and blue cheese(these experiences will generally come later in life, but hey, I’m not here to tell you how to raise your kids. If you want to waste perfectly good scotch and blue cheese by forcing your child to consume it at the age of two, just so you can see the ridiculous face they’ll inevitably make, then that’s your prerogative. Personally, I’ll keep the scotch for myself).

You’ll most likely also get scared, thinking that you can barely remember to water the darn plant, so what business do you have caring for a person. A REAL person?! If a plant dies, it’s not the end of the world(if all the plants die, then I suppose it IS the end of the world, but let’s not be so dramatic. Besides, you’re getting side-tracked here. Please stick to the point. Yes, I’m blaming this tangent on you).

One thing that never crossed my mind is the very uncomfortable conversations that will inevitably rise between a parent and a child. No, not THAT conversation. I’ve known for some time that that one is coming, and I’m banking on kids on the playground filling in my kids about the birds and the bees, and maybe birds who like bees, instead of other birds, and also birds who feel that they were bees, born in the body of a bird. You know, all that stuff that, based on the previous sentence, I am most definitely NOT cut out to explain to children.

The conversations I’m referring to are the ones that force you to completely obliterate your child’s innocent view on the world. And it makes you, as an adult, feel completely guilty for all that’s wrong with the world. Your child wants to sit and build train tracks and Lego buildings, and you have to tell him that he’s not allowed to talk to strangers, because there’s bad people in the world who do bad things.

And you feel like absolute crap for having to do so.

Tevye recently brought home a book from school about fighter jets. We read it together, and looked at all the awesome pictures, and read all the cool statistics about how fast and far it could fly. We read about how stealth it could be, due to its shape. Very cool.

At one point, towards the end of the book, it mentioned that the stealth features helped pilots get out of dangerous situations.

“Why is it dangerous?”

Because adults are jerks, bent on destroying one another over stupid things like oil. Because there are terrible people in the world, who kill thousands of innocent men, women, and children, and they’ll kill anyone who tries to stop them. Because some people believe in one version of G-d, and other people believe in another version of G-d. Both of these religions preach peace and love BUT, they’ve given G-d a different name, so everyone who uses the different name should die.

He’s six, and I don’t know how to explain the concept of war to a six year old. It’s hard to explain things to children that you don’t understand yourself.

I don’t honestly recall what I told him about why it’s dangerous. I didn’t lie, but I didn’t give him a very long explanation either.

I would love nothing more than to see my children grow up in a world where they never knew of guns or war. I’d love my children to never have to see, in the first intermission in a hockey game, the announcement of another soldier who had died serving his/her country. I’d love my children to grow up in a world where they didn’t have to worry about talking to strangers.

But that’s just not going to happen.

And that sucks.

Comments
4 Responses to “Why is it Dangerous?”
  1. sillyliss says:

    Beautiful post. I haven’t encountered these topics yet with Emilia, but they are coming, I know it. So far, the whole concept of death has been tricky. And birth…

Leave a Reply

