Parkinson’s Disease Stinks

I suppose the title isn’t what most people would consider a revelation, or even an A-HA moment, but it’s true nonetheless(on a completely unrelated topic, I thoroughly enjoy the fact that “nonetheless” is one word. I get a kick out of writing it each and every time).

In only a few short weeks a great and terrible event will happen, “The Tour of Sufferlandria”. Now, for those of you who perhaps aren’t familiar with the event, I shall try to enlighten you as best I can. Imagine the most grueling cycling workout you can, okay now make it worse… yeah, that’s closer. Okay, now imagine that it’s a good idea to keep a bucket next to your bike so you have somewhere to throw up when you’ve pushed yourself to that dark place. Alright, finally, imagine that during these workouts, there’s someone there taunting you the entire time. That’s a rough idea of the videos that are collectively known as “The Sufferfest”. They are phenomenal.

And Terrible.

And Horrible.

Most people would do three days on, one day off, two days on, one day off, each week. You do need time for your body to recover, afterall.

The Tour, starting on January 25th, is 9 days in a row, with each stage being one to two hours. It’s very daunting to think about. But it’s a goal I’ve set for myself, and I have full intention of seeing it through. When I was much younger, I learned very quickly not to tell my father “I’ll try” when I was at any sort of competition, as it would be met with “Don’t try. Just do it.”. It’s a good thing I knew what he was talking about, otherwise that might just seem mean. I’ve carried those words with me whenever I’m faced with something that seems too difficult.

This shall be no exception.

So what does all of this have to do with Parkinson’s Disease, and the stink-factor thereof?

Ah, an excellent question

The Tour of Sufferlandria is also a fundraiser for, you guessed it, Parkinson’s Disease, through the Davis Phinney Foundation.

“Wow, that’s a great idea! I’d love to donate, but I have no idea where to go to do so.”

Oh, well that’s no problem. Here’s the link to my personal page where you’re more than welcome to make a financial donation: http://dpf.kintera.org/sufferfest/9329312

“Golly, I’d love to donate financially, but we’re really strapped for cash after the holidays.”

I completely understand. I’m also accepting moral, emotional, and spiritual donations. Also, food(if you’re close by), lots and lots of food. Do you have any idea the number of calories a person burns in two hours of these videos? I’ll tell you, it’s around 1500-1800.

So, if you haven’t noticed, this post has nothing to do with my kids, but I thought this was an important issue, and perhaps I could use this platform for more than just “you’ll never guess where I found poop” stories.

Thank you for all of your support.

 

Leave a Reply

