Thursday, January 16th?! It’s Tevye’s Big Day!

Is it his birthday?

No

Is it his first time going to a hockey game?

Nope

Is it his first day back at swimming lessons?

Yes, but that’s not what I’m referring to. This is bigger. MUCH bigger. It’s huge news.

Tonight, I kid you not, is a full moon.

I’ll just let that big news sink in for a minute… Has this wondrous knowledge permeated your big bulbous brain yet? Do you have any idea what I’m going on about? No, I didn’t think so. Alright, so I’ll start at the beginning of the story then(Yes, I’ve started more than one post at the end, and then worked backwards this week. I know you might not like it, but I do. Any idiot can write a story from the beginning, but it takes a real literary genius to go the other way… Perhaps I’m not a literary genius, and perhaps this blog doesn’t so much constitute “literature” as it does “crazy man’s rambling stories with a boat-load of tangents”. I’m fairly certain that a conversation with me is a bit like the movie “Inception”, except with tangents instead of dreams. Everything starts off fine, but before long you’re caught in a tangent inside of another tangent inside of yet another tangent…Ahem. I believe I’ve proved my point)

Tevye was given a calendar as part of a Christmas present from his Grandma this year. He was completely enthralled by the idea of having his very own, and wanted to hang it on the wall immediately. He refused to wait for January to actually arrive before adorning his wall with this month’s picture. It should’ve come as no surprise that the calendar would be such a hit, as he loves all-things numbers. If there’s numbers posted somewhere, he WILL count them. If there aren’t any numbers around, he’ll sit at the table and write out 1 to 100. He’ll even make a nice grid for all of his precious numbers!

After the calendar was firmly affixed to his wall, we left him alone to revel in all of it’s number-y goodness. A few minutes later, he emerged, a look of such triumph on his face that anyone who happened to walk in the house at that moment might’ve thought he’d just returned from taking the ring to Mordor. Before I could inquire about his look, he enlightened me.

“Tatte, on Thursday, January 16th it’s a full moon!”(his excitement was evident in his voice)

“Oh?! Well there you go.”

“I’m so excited!”(see, I told you), and off he trundled.

A few minutes later I heard him in the other room “Hey Mama! Guess what…”

Comments
10 Responses to “Thursday, January 16th?! It’s Tevye’s Big Day!”
  1. sillyliss says:

    I can hear the wolves howling!

  2. lewiscave says:

    You know, the end first thing really worked out here.

  3. Awww. I have a sister with a similar obsession with numbers and the best gift anyone ever got her was one of those 4 month dry erase calendars from Office Depot. She LOVED writing numbers (be they dates or something else) in those squares.

  4. You can totally crack me up and make my day! Love reading your blog!

  5. I love having the ending first….

Leave a Reply

