What is the Unicorn Chasing?

Not being someone who remembers many dreams, I’ve always been torn as to whether I’d like to remember more. On the one hand, I’d like to know what I’m thinking about during the eight hours when I’m asleep. Heck, that’s a third of every day, and I have no idea what’s happening in my own mind! I’d like to register a complaint with whoever is in charge of dolling out the brains around here. On the other hand, I’m not sure that I actually want to remember any more of my dreams. They’re either horrendously creepy/terrifying(some things that I’m not sure how my brain ever came up with) or they’re horribly dull(eg going to check the mail, grocery shopping, a shift at work where nothing of note happens). Whether you view it as fortunate or otherwise, the latter type of dream is much more prevalent. I believe I should get paid for time that I spend dreaming about work, but my boss and I aren’t exactly seeing eye-to-eye on that one. I’m still trying to wear him down, though he seems pretty stubborn about the whole issue.

For a long time the kids would wake up after having a scary dream, unable to recall what had been so terrifying. Apparently they were still scared enough that they needed to spend the night in our bed, kicking me and deciding exactly how much blanket should be covering me at any given moment(Saarah also has a knack for managing to muscle me right out of the bed. How she does it, I have no idea. Have you seen her? She’s tiny. Her arms are puny). If they’re going to spend the night tormenting me, then I at least want a story. Once Saarah said that monsters were chasing her, but that’s as much as she would elaborate.

The other day she was talking about her dream from the previous night while we were all sitting at the table:

“Last night I had a silly dream.”

“Oh? What did you dream about?”

“A unicorn was chasing a talking bagel.”

“A talking bagel?!”

Cutie Patootie chuckles, followed by “Yyyyyyyyep!”

Well that sounds like a significantly more fun way of spending time asleep than thinking about lumber and copper pipe. Maybe I’ll repeat “Talking bagel” a millions times before I go to sleep, and then I’ll dream about talking bagels. Or maybe I won’t, but I’ll wake up wanting a bagel.

I should make some bagels just in case.

Comments
6 Responses to “What is the Unicorn Chasing?”
  1. Annie says:

    Hahaha…I should try to repeat talking bagels, too! Sounds better then my ever present dreams of moving in slow-motion.

  2. Very cute post. Does your daughter know the “What do you call a seagull who likes to fly on the bay?” joke? Sounds like it! Now see, my kids would think nothing of a talking bagel in a dream (I have crazy voices that I do for all the food they don’t finish eating) but a unicorn who can chase…well now we’re talking. Sweet dreams!

  3. I want a bagel now 😦

Leave a Reply

