Award-Innundation

A couple of weeks ago, somebody nominated me for the Sunshine Blogger Award. When I received the email, I was very thankful, and had full intention of following through with my end of the bargain(I’ll get to that in a minute). Since that day, while I’ve remained intent on fulfilling my obligations, and not just being some jerk who refuses to pass along the love to other bloggers, I’ve been quite busy, and just haven’t found the time.

Of course, to compound my feeling of guilt about not doing anything with the award, more people have sent me awards, both the Versatile Blogger Award, as well as the Very Inspirational Blogger Award.

I really can’t say thank you enough to the people who thought highly enough of my little place on the internet, yammering on about how ridiculous my children are, to bestow such high honours on little old me.

Of course, with great awards comes great responsibility, by which I mean, there are rules that need to be followed:

The rules for accepting this award are as follows:

1. Thank the award-givers and link back to them in your post. 

2. Share 7 things about yourself.

3. Pass this award along to 15 other bloggers.

4. Contact your chosen bloggers to let them know about the award. 

Completion of the Rules

Rule 1: Giving Credit

Alright, well here’s the thing. A number of people who sent me these awards are also people who I would nominate, myself. I hope it doesn’t come across as taking the easy way out, because I’m honestly not trying to do that, it just worked out that way. theycallmebetty.com, http://www.prytulka.wordpress.com, http://danlrene.wordpress.com, http://raisingarealist.com/lynneayersbeyondthebrush.wordpress.com, and http://meizac.wordpress.com I believe that’s all, though I may be wrong. If I’ve forgotten to include you, and you were kind enough to nominate me, I sincerely apologize. I went back through all of the comments that I’ve received recently, and this is what I found. Again, I’m terribly sorry if I didn’t include your particular blog. I’ll tell you what, if I’ve missed you, please let me know in the comments section, and I will update this post to include you as well.

Rule 2: Seven Things About Myself

1. I strongly dislike making lists about myself.

2. One of my favourite things in the world is quiet. This may come across as strange, given that I’m a stay at home parent, but perhaps that’s what makes it all the sweeter when it actually occurs. That moment, when I’m on my bike, and I’m out in the middle of nowhere. There’s no wind, and no cars. All I can here is the sound of my tires on the road, that’s the perfect moment.

3. I enjoy classical music, which I would imagine stems from my parents listening to it when I was very young.

4. I’m introverted, which is why “Thing about Myself #1” exists. It’s also why I hate talking to strangers, being in overly crowded situations, and having the focus put on me. I’m much more comfortable listening, than participating in a conversation. After doing some reading, apparently 25% of all people are, to some extent, introverted. I would organize a support group, but who would possibly show up? I’m also hilarious.

5. I still haven’t done my taxes for last year.

6. I drink four cups of coffee every day. Big cups, too. Only once or twice a week will I buy coffee, as I’m perfectly capable of making it myself. The majority of people who live here will not make coffee at home, but would rather run to the store and buy coffee each time they want some. I can’t figure it out. Then again, I didn’t grow up here.

7. I grew up in Victoria, BC, but didn’t let my hair go into dreadlocks until I moved to a small town in Nova Scotia.

Rule 3: Passing Along the Blog-Love

Yeah, I don’t read a huge number of blogs on a regular basis, but I will list as many as I feel deserve credit for being tremendous. As I mentioned earlier, some of them were bloggers who sent these awards my way. Normally, I suppose, I would pass along a specific award, but being the trend-setter that I am, I’m going to let you pick whichever of these fine awards you so desire. Pick one, pick three, I don’t care! Just know that by me naming you here, I’m giving you the official “Moishe Seal-of-Approval” for having an outstanding blog.

1. http://thebookofalice.wordpress.com/ A terrific blog, and one that I cannot start my day without. Since she usually posts right before I do, I can only assume that we’re having a race. She always wins.

2. http://sillyliss.com/ Another terrific blog. This one I only discovered recently, but it’s a hoot. I was sold on its hilarity when the Seinfeld episode about gum was referenced. It’s so much more than chewed gum, though.

3. http://raisingarealist.com/ Yet another great way to spend some time is to read this blog. Seriously, go and give it a read.

4. http://stephicakes.com I’ve only just discovered this one, but it’s pretty darn swell!

5. livingshalom.com Ha, a blog that isn’t parenting-related. This one has tons of great stuff going on. It’s another one that, as soon as I get the email that something  has been posted I’m right over there to check it out. Careful, may induce feelings of hunger, as well as excessive salivation.

6. theycallmebetty.com Good blog-stuff happening over there.

7. lesleycarter.wordpress.com A great travel blog. I have no idea how she’s managed to travel so very far and wide, but I’m always jealous reading her blog.

8.jerry-mahoney.com Yet another parenting blog, thought this one is from a bit of a different perspective. Great reading, always(he might thinking about adding that as his slogan “Great Reading. Always.”)

9. viewsfromthecouch.com Alright, so I read a lot of parenting blogs. This one can be summed up in one word “Hilarious”.

10. grumpycomments.com Another non-parenting blog. This one is always good for a laugh.

Okay, so I didn’t make it to 15. I can’t think of any  more right now. If you don’t see your blog listed here, it doesn’t mean that I don’t think your blog is splendid, but this is all I could come up with right now. If I think of more, I’ll be sure to add them later.

Rule 4: Informing the recipients

I will, but after I eat some lunch.

Again, thank you very much to everyone who bestowed this great honour upon me. It was an honour just to be nominated!

Comments
18 Responses to “Award-Innundation”
  1. sillyliss says:

    You certainly deserve these awards. Your blog is always a great read. It’s one of those that I open right away, even if I’m plainly in the middle of a big work crisis. Must get my Tatte + kids fix!

    Thanks for naming me as a blog you read/like, too. What a great start to a Monday!

    I’m looking forward to hearing about your weekend, or whatever you post about next. 🙂

  2. That was a good read! I ended up here because I follow They Call me Betty, and Betty and I have nominated each other for the Versatile Blogger award recently, and through him I found you! Anyway, looks entertaining around here, I might hang around for a while…

  3. I enjoy seeing what sites are recommended. Thanks for sharing.
    Quiet. My husband doesn’t understand why I sit in a room alone when everyone is in bed. It’s appreciation for the quiet and for the “not quiet” times. I started my blog not long ago and I am trying to give people a place to read a quick story for a smile or a laugh. A story that they can relate to because we are all part of some kind of family. A place to go after you have read the days news on your mobile while waiting in the school drop off/pick up line or on the side of a practice field. I would be honored if you stopped by if you found the time.
    You may enjoy my post from friday.

  4. christine says:

    Thanks, blog-pal! You and your kiddo-s are pretty super, too.

    Cheers!

  5. Pink Ninjabi says:

    Very well deserved! And wowee, a fellow Canadian you are! And introvert. I knew your sense of humor was awesome, now I know why! Congrats again, well deserved! 😀

  6. Congrats on the award – and thanks for mine! I love the slogan “Great reading. Always.” but if I put it up on my own blog it might seem a bit, well, boastful. Maybe I can blurb you. 🙂

  7. workingmommawithababy says:

    Great list of blogs! Definitely glad to be introduced to some new fun reads. Also, congrats on the awards.

  8. Thanks so much for the mention! I will work on paying this forward this week.

  9. stephicakes says:

    Neato! Thank you. I’m flattered cause I think your blog is the biznass. And OMG, I LOVE Mommy Man aka Jerry Mahoney. Also, thanks for all the tips on other good blogs.
    🙂

    • I’ve received a number of compliments on my blog, but this has to be one of the best. I chuckled quite heartily when I read it. Thank you very much.

      Yeah, that IS a great blog.

  10. Lisa Gautier says:

    You are thoughtful to nominate me! Thanks for your encouraging words about Living Shalom and pointing readers in that direction! Best, Lisa

Leave a Reply

